Best Business Phone System

Home / Call center phone systems

Call Center Phone Systems for Small Teams

For a small call center, published options start with Zoom Phone at $16 a user billed annually (call queues on every plan) and Aircall Essentials at $30 a license billed annually with a 3-license minimum (IVR, queues and recording). Dedicated contact center plans start at $69 an agent billed annually for Zoom Contact Center, $75 for Nextiva and $89 for Dialpad Support. Dialers and live monitoring usually sit one tier up.

By Jason Holloway. Last checked October 22, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

At a glance

  1. Queues from$16 a user (Zoom Phone)
  2. Aircall minimum3 licenses ($90 a month)
  3. Contact center from$69 an agent (Zoom, annual)
  4. Power dialer from$50 (Aircall Professional)
  5. Workforce managementZoom Elite, Dialpad Premium
Compare systems
On this page
  1. Business phone system or contact center software?
  2. Call center phone systems compared
  3. What 5 and 10 agents cost per month
  4. Features that matter for a call center
  5. Best fit by team
  6. Questions to ask in a demo
  7. Frequently asked questions

Business phone system or contact center software?

A small team answering a shared line does not always need contact center software. Business phone systems already include the basics: a phone menu, ring groups and, on some plans, call queues. Contact center products add what busy queues need: routing across voice, chat and email, outbound dialers, live monitoring and coaching, and workforce management.

A phone system is enough if

  • Calls come in to a shared line and a few people answer.
  • You need a menu, a queue and recordings, not dialers.
  • Budget matters: Zoom Phone has call queues on every plan from $16 a user billed annually.

You need contact center tools if

  • Agents make outbound calls all day (power or preview dialers).
  • Supervisors need to listen in, whisper or barge.
  • You handle chat, email and SMS in the same queue, or schedule agents with forecasting.

Call center phone systems compared

SystemPriceMinimumInboundOutboundSupervisors
Zoom Phone$16 a user billed annually, $18 monthlyNoneCall queues, auto attendants, recording, business-hours routingNone listedNot listed
Aircall Essentials$30 a license billed annually3 licensesIVR, queues, ring groups, recording with AI transcripts, basic analytics (6 months)None (Power Dialer on Professional)No live monitoring
Aircall ProfessionalFrom $50 a license3 licensesAdds smart routing and queue callbackPower Dialer, voicemail drop, outbound campaignsLive monitoring, whisper, barge, coaching
Zoom Contact Center Essentials$69 an agent billed annually, $85 monthlyNot statedOmnichannel inbound (voice, video, chat, SMS), IVR flow editorDialers on Premium ($99 annual)AI summaries, sentiment; workforce management on Elite ($149)
Nextiva contact center EssentialFrom $75 an agentNot statedSmart call routing, 1 real-time dashboardNot statedWorkforce management on Premium (quote)
Dialpad Support Essentials$89 a user (billing not labeled)Not statedOmnichannel routing, contact center analytics, screen recordingPower DialerLive coaching on Advanced ($119); workforce management on Premium ($149)

From each company's own pricing page on October 22, 2026. Prices per agent or user per month, before taxes and fees.

What 5 and 10 agents cost per month

5 agents

Zoom Phone$80/mo
Aircall Essentials$150/mo
Zoom Contact Center Essentials$345/mo
Nextiva contact center Essential$375/mo
Dialpad Support Essentials (not labeled)$445/mo

10 agents

Zoom Phone$160/mo
Aircall Essentials$300/mo
Zoom Contact Center Essentials$690/mo
Nextiva contact center Essential$750/mo
Dialpad Support Essentials (not labeled)$890/mo

Entry tier of each product at list price. Aircall bills at least 3 licenses. Dialpad does not label its Support price as monthly or annual. Zoom prices are annual billing.

Features that matter for a call center

  • Queues and routing: holding callers in line and sending them to the next free agent. Zoom Phone lists call queues (ACD) on every plan; Google Voice adds call queuing for ring groups on Standard ($20 plus Workspace); Ooma has call queuing on Pro Plus ($29.95); RingCentral sells a Call Queues Booster for $35.
  • IVR: the phone menu that sorts callers. Aircall has IVR on every plan; Zoom Contact Center includes a flow editor with IVR.
  • Outbound dialers: Aircall's Power Dialer is on Professional; Zoom Contact Center's progressive and preview dialers start on Premium; Dialpad Support includes a Power Dialer.
  • Supervisor tools: live monitoring, call whispering and barge are on Aircall Professional, not Essentials.
  • Analytics history: Aircall Essentials keeps up to six months of data; Enterprise has unlimited history.
  • Workforce management: forecasting and scheduling are on Zoom Contact Center Elite and Dialpad Support Premium, and on Nextiva's Premium contact center plan.

Best fit by team

Small inbound team on a budgetZoom Phone

Call queues, auto attendants and recording on every plan from $16 a user billed annually.

Details
Support team of 3 to 10Aircall Essentials

IVR, queues, ring groups and recording with AI transcripts; 3-license minimum.

Details
Outbound sales teamAircall Professional

Power Dialer, voicemail drop, live monitoring and coaching from $50 a license.

Details
Voice, chat and SMS in one queueZoom Contact Center

Omnichannel inbound from $69 an agent billed annually; dialers from $99.

Details

Questions to ask in a demo

  1. Is the price monthly or annual, and is there a seat minimum? Aircall bills 3 licenses minimum and does not publish monthly pricing; Dialpad does not label its Support price.
  2. Which tier has the dialer and supervisor tools? They are rarely on the entry plan.
  3. What do AI features cost? Nextiva lists AI transcription on its contact center Essential plan as usage-based; Aircall's AI Voice Agent minutes are $0.49 each after 50 free a month.
  4. How long are recordings and analytics kept? Aircall Essentials keeps up to six months of analytics.
  5. What integrations are included? Aircall's Salesforce integrations are on Professional, not Essentials.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best phone system for a small call center?

For inbound queues on a budget, Zoom Phone, with call queues on every plan from $16 a user billed annually. For a support or sales team of 3 or more, Aircall: Essentials at $30 a license billed annually, Professional from $50 for dialers and live monitoring. For voice, chat and SMS in one queue, Zoom Contact Center from $69 an agent billed annually.

How much does call center software cost per agent?

Published entry prices: Zoom Contact Center $69 an agent billed annually ($85 monthly), Nextiva from $75, Dialpad Support $89 (billing not labeled). Aircall, a phone system built for call teams, is $30 a license billed annually with a 3-license minimum.

Do I need contact center software for a small team?

Not always. If a few people answer a shared line and you need a menu, a queue and recordings, a business phone system covers it. Contact center software adds outbound dialers, supervisor monitoring, omnichannel routing and workforce management.

Which phone systems include call queues?

Zoom Phone (every plan), Aircall (every plan), Google Voice Standard (queuing for ring groups), Ooma Office Pro Plus, and RingCentral with its $35 Call Queues Booster add-on.

Which call center systems have a power dialer?

Aircall Professional (from $50 a license) and Dialpad Support. Zoom Contact Center has progressive and preview dialers from its Premium plan ($99 an agent billed annually).