On this page
- What a multi-line phone system is
- Multi-line business phone systems compared
- 3-line, 5-line and 10-line offices: monthly cost
- What a 4-person office pays
- What each system is best for
- Year one with desk phones
- How many lines do you need?
- Annual or monthly billing for 4 users
- Texting on multi-line plans
- 3CX: priced by calls at once
- Desk phones or apps
- Which plan has the features a multi-line office uses
- Features worth paying for
- How to choose a multi-line phone system
- Questions to ask a provider
- 911 rules for multi-line systems
- Setting up a multi-line system
- Landline multi-line systems
- Frequently asked questions
What a multi-line phone system is
A multi-line phone system lets a business take and make several calls at once on one shared number, with calls passed between people. The old version was a box in a closet with a separate phone line for each call. A cloud system does the same over the internet: each person gets an extension in an app or on a desk phone, and the main number can ring many people at the same time.
Lines
Calls that can happen at the same time. On copper, one call per physical line; on cloud systems, usually not a limit you buy.
Extensions
The people or phones calls can reach. Most cloud systems price per user, each with an extension.
Numbers
What customers dial. Several extensions can share one main number, or each person can have a direct number.
Multi-line business phone systems compared
| System | Entry prices: annual / monthly | How it is billed |
|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper | True Solo $14 / $18; Solo Plus $25 / $32; Small Business $55 / $70 | Per account: 1, 3 or unlimited extensions |
| Vonage | Mobile $13.99 (annual contract) / $19.99 | Per line |
| Dialpad | Standard $15 / $27; Pro $25 / $35 | Per user |
| Nextiva | NEXT Core $15 / $23; NEXT Engage $25 / $50 | Per user |
| Quo | Starter $15; Business $23 (billed annually) | Per user; one number each |
| Zoom Phone | US & CA Unlimited $16; Pro Plus $20.50 (billed annually) | Per user |
| Ooma Office | Essentials $19.95; Pro $24.95; Pro Plus $29.95 (monthly only) | Per user, no contract |
| RingCentral | Core $20 / $30; Advanced $25 / $35; Ultra $35 / $45 | Per user |
| JustCall | Team $29 / $39 | Per user, 2-license minimum |
| 3CX | Basic $300 a year for 8 simultaneous calls; SMB Free for up to 10 users | Per system, by simultaneous calls |
Per user (or line, account or system) a month unless stated, before taxes and fees, from each company's own pricing page, checked October 29, 2026. Where two prices are shown, the first is the annual-billing price. Vonage also shows lower per-line prices for some team sizes it does not label; we use the base price.
3-line, 5-line and 10-line offices: monthly cost
| Entry plan | 3 lines | 5 lines | 10 lines |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper | $25 / $32 | $55 / $70 | $55 / $70 |
| Google Voice Starter + Workspace (1-year commitment) | $51 / not published | $85 / not published | $170 / not published |
| Vonage Mobile | $41.97 / $59.97 | $69.95 / $99.95 | $139.90 / $199.90 |
| Dialpad Standard | $45 / $81 | $75 / $135 | $150 / $270 |
| Nextiva NEXT Core | $45 / $69 | $75 / $115 | $150 / $230 |
| Quo Starter | $45 / $57 | $75 / $95 | $150 / $190 |
| Zoom Phone | $48 / $54 | $80 / $90 | $160 / $180 |
| Ooma Office Essentials | $59.85 / $59.85 | $99.75 / $99.75 | $199.50 / $199.50 |
| RingCentral Core | $60 / $90 | $100 / $150 | $200 / $300 |
| JustCall Team | $87 / $117 | $145 / $195 | $290 / $390 |
| Aircall Essentials | $90 / $120 | $150 / $200 | $300 / $400 |
Per month, annual or contract price first and month-to-month second, computed from each company's published prices; taxes and fees extra. Grasshopper uses Solo Plus for 3 extensions and Small Business above that. JustCall bills at least 2 licenses and Aircall at least 3 on either billing term. Google Voice includes the $7 Workspace Starter seat teams need, which is Google's price with a 1-year commitment (Google Workspace pricing); its flexible monthly price is not recorded here. Vonage also shows lower per-line prices for some team sizes it does not label; we use the base price. Zoom, Quo and Google figures from the comparison.
What a 4-person office pays
What each system is best for
- Grasshopper: A few people sharing one number on their cell phones. Priced per account; extra numbers are $9 a month on annual billing ($10 monthly), with a 7-day money-back guarantee.
- Dialpad: AI transcripts and call summaries on the $15 entry plan; CRM integrations on Pro. 14-day trial.
- Nextiva: $15 a user on a 12-month or longer term, $23 month to month on NEXT Core.
- Quo: Teams that text. Business adds group calling, custom ring orders, call transfers and phone menus.
- Zoom Phone: Teams already on Zoom; call recording, SMS and auto attendants on every plan.
- Ooma Office: Offices with desk phones and no appetite for a contract. Ring groups, hold music and a virtual receptionist on every plan.
- RingCentral: Core includes 100 toll-free minutes and 25 texts per user a month; Advanced adds multiple sites.
- Vonage: Lowest per-line price if you sign for a year; desk phones from Premium.
- 3CX: Many staff, few calls at once. Priced by simultaneous calls, free for up to 10 users on SMB Free.
Year one with desk phones
Hardware is the cost people forget. Ooma's shop listed IP desk phones from $79.99 in stock when the comparison was checked. A 5-person office on Ooma Office Essentials with one such phone each costs $1,197 for 12 months of service plus $399.95 for phones: $1,596.95 in year one, before taxes. Ooma's shop also showed a buy-one-get-one offer on the Yealink T31W (Ooma shop), so phones can cost less. One Spectrum business line, by comparison, is $699 in year one at its $50 standard rate plus $99 installation, for a single line.
How many lines do you need?
| Setup | Fits | What to buy |
|---|---|---|
| 2-line business phone system | Two people, or one person who needs a second number | 2 users on any per-user plan (JustCall's minimum is 2); one person can add a second Grasshopper number for $9 a month on annual billing ($10 monthly) |
| 3-line setup | A small office sharing one main number | Grasshopper Solo Plus covers 3 extensions for $25 a month billed annually; per-user plans cost 3 seats |
| 4 to 10 lines | A front desk plus staff | Per-user plans, or Grasshopper Small Business with unlimited extensions |
| Many people, few calls at once | Offices where most staff are rarely on the phone | 3CX, priced by simultaneous calls: an 8-call system is $300 a year for Basic, calls extra |
Annual or monthly billing for 4 users
| Plan | 4 users, billed annually | 4 users, month to month | Extra a year for monthly |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper Small Business | $55 | $70 | $180 |
| Vonage Mobile | $55.96 | $79.96 | $288 |
| Dialpad Standard | $60 | $108 | $576 |
| Nextiva NEXT Core | $60 | $92 | $384 |
| RingCentral Core | $80 | $120 | $480 |
| JustCall Team | $116 | $156 | $480 |
Computed from each company's published annual and monthly prices for the plans that list both, checked October 29, 2026.
Texting on multi-line plans
| System | Business texting |
|---|---|
| Quo | Unlimited US and Canada texting on every plan (carrier registration required) |
| Nextiva | Core 100 per user (period not stated), Engage 500, Scale unlimited |
| Ooma Office | None on Essentials; Pro up to 250 a month, Pro Plus up to 1,000 |
| RingCentral | Core 25 per user a month, Advanced 100; TCR registration required |
| Zoom Phone | Domestic SMS and MMS on every plan |
| Vonage | SMS and MMS on every plan; Campaign Registry fees apply |
RingCentral, Ooma and Vonage from their pricing pages, read October 29, 2026; the others from the comparison.
3CX: priced by calls at once
| Simultaneous calls | Basic | PRO | AI |
|---|---|---|---|
| 8 | $300 | $395 | $575 |
| 16 | $600 | $795 | $1,095 |
| 24 | $745 | $990 | $1,350 |
| 32 | $915 | $1,215 | $1,620 |
Annual license for the whole system, US dollars, from 3CX's price table. Basic covers calling, routing and apps; PRO adds call queues and CRM integrations; AI adds AI agents and full call transcription. SIP trunk service is bought separately. Full table on 3CX pricing.
Desk phones or apps
Which plan has the features a multi-line office uses
| System | Phone menu | Call recording | Desk phones |
|---|---|---|---|
| Zoom Phone | Auto attendants/IVR on all plans | All plans | Phones sold as an add-on |
| Ooma Office | All plans | Pro ($24.95) | Yes, phones sold |
| Google Voice | Standard ($20) | All paid plans, on demand; automatic on Premier | All paid plans |
| Quo | Business ($23 annual) | Manual on Starter; automatic on Business | Not stated |
| Vonage | Not stated on the pricing page | Advanced, 15 hours a month | Premium and Advanced |
| Nextiva | Offered | Offered | VoIP desk phones on every plan (bought separately) |
| RingCentral | Auto attendant listed | On-demand on Core | Yes; rental needs a multi-year contract |
| Aircall | All plans | All plans | Not stated |
| Grasshopper | Included | Automatic on every extension | No (app-based) |
From the feature table on the comparison (plan pages read October 22, 2026); RingCentral recording from its plans page, read October 29, 2026.
Features worth paying for
- Phone menu (auto attendant). "Press 1 for sales." Not on Quo Starter; Quo Business adds phone menus and group calling. See auto attendant phone systems.
- Ring groups and hold music. Ooma includes both on every plan.
- Call queues hold callers in line during busy times: Ooma Pro Plus, or RingCentral's paid Call Queues Booster.
- Call recording starts on Ooma Pro and Vonage Advanced (15 hours a month).
How to choose a multi-line phone system
- Count people, not lines. Per-user plans charge for everyone who answers; 3CX charges for calls in progress.
- Decide where calls ring. Desk phones at a front desk, apps for staff on the move, or both.
- List the must-have features. A phone menu, ring groups, recording or queues often decide the plan tier.
- Choose the term. Annual billing saves money; Dialpad Standard costs 80% more month to month, Nextiva Core 53% more.
- Add hardware and fees. Desk phones, taxes and regulatory fees sit on top of every price here.
- Test it. Use a trial or money-back period with real calls before porting your main number.
Questions to ask a provider
- Is the price per user, per line, per account or per system, and is there a minimum?
- Which desk phones do you support, and can I rent them without a long contract?
- Is a phone menu included on this plan, and how many?
- Are call queues and hold music included, or an add-on?
- Is direct 911 dialing and the central notification set up for every phone?
- What are the taxes and fees on a typical bill?
911 rules for multi-line systems
Under Kari's Law, anyone on a multi-line system must be able to dial 911 from any phone without a prefix such as 9 (47 CFR 9.16). The system must also notify a central location, on-site or off-site, where someone is likely to see or hear the alert (FCC). Cloud providers set this up for you; confirm it during setup if you add desk phones.
Setting up a multi-line system
- Choose the main number: a new local or toll-free number, or port the one you have.
- Add a user or extension for each person, and a direct number for anyone who needs one.
- Build the phone menu and ring groups: sales, support, front desk.
- Set business hours and after-hours routing.
- Connect desk phones, confirm direct 911 dialing works from each, and register each location's address.
- Register the number for texting before you advertise it for texts.
Landline multi-line systems
Copper lines still exist, but carriers can retire them after giving notice under FCC rules; the rules set notice periods, not a shutoff year. One published business line price: Spectrum lists $50 a month for a first line plus $99 installation per location (Spectrum price guide). More on business landline service and VoIP vs landline.
Desk phone models, line keys and prices: VoIP phones.
Comparing whole systems for an office? See office phone systems, with costs for 5 and 10 people.
Frequently asked questions
What is a multi-line phone system?
A phone system that handles several calls at once on a shared number, with extensions for each person and transfers between them. Today most run in the cloud, on apps and desk phones.
Which phone service is best for multiple lines?
For a few people sharing one number on apps, Grasshopper is priced per account. For staff who each need their own line, per-user plans such as Dialpad, Nextiva or Quo start at $15 a user billed annually.
What year will landlines be phased out?
The FCC rules we read set no phase-out year. They require carriers to give notice before retiring copper lines; see business landline service.
How much do landlines cost per month?
Spectrum's Business Voice price guide lists $50 a month for a first line, or a promotional $30 for months 1 to 12 and $40 after, plus $99 installation per location.
How many phone lines does a small business need?
On a cloud system, one per person who answers calls; the number of calls at once is rarely limited. On 3CX, size it by how many calls happen at the same time, from 8 simultaneous calls.
Do multi-line systems need 911 without dialing 9?
Yes. Under Kari's Law, multi-line systems must let users dial 911 directly and must notify a central location when someone does.