On this page
- Office phone systems compared
- Every plan's price, side by side
- What an office phone system costs for 5 and 10 people
- The first plan with a phone menu
- Annual vs monthly billing: what committing saves
- The seven systems, one by one
- Types of office phone systems
- Features an office phone needs, by system
- Office phones: desk, cordless or apps
- Toll-free numbers and texting for an office
- Remote and hybrid offices
- How many lines does an office need?
- Setting up an office phone system
- Moving from a landline or an old phone system
- 911 rules every office phone system must meet
- Costs beyond the plan price
- Office phone systems by office size
- Which office phone system to choose
- Five mistakes that raise the bill
- Questions to ask before you sign
- Frequently asked questions
An office phone system gives every person an extension, sends callers to the right desk through a phone menu, and works on desk phones, computers and cell phones. Almost every system sold to small offices today runs in the cloud and is priced per user, per month. Below are seven of them with prices from each company's own site, what each one costs for a 5- and 10-person office, and how to choose.
Office phone systems compared
| System | Entry price | Entry price, monthly billing | Phone menu | Desk phones | Calling |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral RingEX | $20 a user (Core, paid annually) | $30 | Auto attendant | Rental needs a multi-year contract | Unlimited calls within the US and Canada |
| Nextiva | $15 a user (NEXT Core, annual) | $23 | Auto attendant offered | Sells desk phones | Unlimited voice and video calling |
| Zoom Phone | $16 a user (billed annually) | Not shown here | Auto attendants/IVR on all plans | Zoom Certified phones | US and Canada |
| Vonage Business | $13.99 a line (annual-contract promotion) | $19.99 | Virtual receptionist listed | Premium and Advanced only | Unlimited domestic calling, reasonable usage applies |
| Ooma Office | $19.95 a user (no contract) | $19.95 | Virtual receptionist on all plans | Sells analog and IP phones | Unlimited calling to the US, Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico |
| Google Voice | $10 a user plus Google Workspace | Not stated | Standard and Premier only | HP Poly phones | Domestic and regional calling |
| Grasshopper | $14 a month per account (annual) | $18 | Solo Plus and Small Business (not True Solo) | None sold; VoIP desk phones can connect, per its FAQ | Unlimited calling and texting within the US and Canada |
Prices from each company's own pricing page. Taxes and regulatory fees are extra on every system. Zoom Phone's month-to-month prices are on Zoom Phone pricing.
Every plan's price, side by side
| System | Plans | Annual billing, per user | Monthly billing, per user |
|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral RingEX | Core / Advanced / Ultra | $20 / $25 / $35 | $30 / $35 / $45 |
| Nextiva | NEXT Core / Engage / Scale | $15 / $25 / $75 | $23 / $50 / $75 |
| Zoom Phone | US & CA Unlimited / Pro Plus / Business Plus | $16 / $20.50 / $24.50 | Not shown here |
| Vonage Business | Mobile / Premium / Advanced | $13.99 / $20.99 / $27.99 | $19.99 / $29.99 / $39.99 |
| Ooma Office | Essentials / Pro / Pro Plus | $19.95 / $24.95 / $29.95 | $19.95 / $24.95 / $29.95 |
| Google Voice (plus Workspace) | Starter / Standard / Premier | $10 / $20 / $30 | Not stated |
| Grasshopper (per account) | True Solo / Solo Plus / Small Business | $14 / $25 / $55 | $18 / $32 / $70 |
What an office phone system costs for 5 and 10 people
| System | Entry plan | 5 people, annual billing | 5 people, monthly billing | 10 people, annual billing | Year one, 5 people |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral | Core | $100 | $150 | $200 | $1,200 |
| Nextiva | NEXT Core | $75 | $115 | $150 | $900 |
| Zoom Phone | US & CA Unlimited | $80 | Not shown | $160 | $960 |
| Vonage | Mobile | $69.95 | $99.95 | $139.90 | $839.40 |
| Ooma Office | Essentials | $99.75 | $99.75 | $199.50 | $1,197 |
| Google Voice | Starter + Workspace | $85 | Not shown | $170 | $1,020 |
| Grasshopper | Small Business | $55 | $70 | $55 | $660 |
Our math: per-user price times the number of people, at list price before taxes and fees. Grasshopper charges one price per account, so 5 and 10 people cost the same on its Small Business plan, which has unlimited extensions (Grasshopper). Google Voice adds Google Workspace Starter at $7 a user on Google's annual plan ($8.40 flexible). Vonage's lowest price needs a 1-year contract, and its Mobile plan does not support desk phones; with desk phones on Premium, five people cost $104.95 a month on the annual contract (Vonage).
The cheapest line in the chart is not always the cheapest office. Two plans near the bottom leave out something most offices want: Grasshopper sells no desk phones, and Google Voice Starter has no phone menu. If your office needs both a receptionist-style menu and handsets on desks, Zoom Phone is the lowest entry plan in this group that lists both on every plan: $16 a user billed annually or $18 billed monthly. Ooma Office, at $19.95, is the lowest with no contract at all.
The first plan with a phone menu
Because the phone menu is what turns a set of phone numbers into an office system, price the first plan that has one, not the cheapest plan on the page.
| System | First plan with a menu | Per user | 5 people |
|---|---|---|---|
| Ooma Office | Essentials | $19.95 | $99.75 |
| RingCentral | Core (auto attendant listed) | $20 | $100 |
| Google Voice | Standard + Workspace Starter | $27 | $135 |
| Grasshopper | Solo Plus (per account, not True Solo) | $25 a month for the account | $31 (two extra $3 extensions) |
| Nextiva, Vonage | Menu offered; plan not stated on the pricing page | Ask before you buy | |
| Zoom Phone | US & CA Unlimited (auto attendants/IVR listed) | $16 | $80 |
Annual vs monthly billing: what committing saves
| System (entry plan, 5 people) | Monthly billing | Annual billing | Saved in a year |
|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral | $150 | $100 | $600 |
| Nextiva | $115 | $75 | $480 |
| Vonage | $99.95 | $69.95 | $360 |
| Grasshopper | $70 | $55 | $180 |
| Ooma Office | $99.75 | $99.75 | $0 |
Our math: the monthly difference for five people times 12. Paying a year ahead saves $600 on RingCentral Core and $360 on Vonage Mobile, but Vonage ties that saving to a contract with early termination fees. Ooma Office has one price, so there is nothing to save and nothing to lose. If your team size may change within a year, monthly billing or a no-contract system is the safer choice.
The seven systems, one by one
RingCentral RingEX
Three plans from $20 to $35 a user paid annually, or $30 to $45 monthly (RingCentral). Auto attendant listed, on-demand recording on Core and toll-free minutes on every plan. Desk phone rental needs a multi-year contract. Built for teams that will grow into queues and add-ons. RingCentral pricing.
Nextiva
NEXT Core is $15 a user on annual billing and $23 monthly; Engage is $25 or $50, and Scale $75 either way (Nextiva). Nextiva sells desk phones and lists unlimited voice and video calling. Nextiva pricing.
Zoom Phone
$16, $20.50 and $24.50 a user billed annually (Zoom). Call recording and SMS on every plan (Zoom); its comparison table lists unlimited auto attendants/IVR and call queues on every plan, and extra local or toll-free numbers are $5 a month each. Zoom asks for Zoom Certified phones. Zoom Phone pricing.
Vonage Business
$13.99 to $27.99 a line on a 1-year contract, $19.99 to $39.99 monthly. Texting on every plan; desk phones from Premium; recording only on Advanced, 15 hours a month. Early termination fees on annual contracts can reach the full contract. Vonage review.
Ooma Office
$19.95, $24.95 and $29.95 a user with no contract. Virtual receptionist, ring groups, music on hold and a free toll-free number on every plan; texting and recording from Pro. Ooma review.
Google Voice
$10, $20 and $30 a user plus Google Workspace. Calls inside Gmail, recording on every paid plan, HP Poly desk phones. No phone menu until Standard and no toll-free numbers. Google Voice for business review.
Grasshopper
One price per account: $14, $25 or $55 a month billed annually, $18 to $70 monthly. Local, toll-free or vanity numbers and a 7-day trial; built around its apps, with no desk phones sold. Google Voice vs Grasshopper.
Types of office phone systems
"Office phone system" covers three setups. They differ in who runs the equipment and how you pay.
| Type | Who runs it | How you pay | Fits |
|---|---|---|---|
| Cloud (hosted) phone system | The provider, in its data centers | A monthly fee per user | Most small offices; remote and hybrid teams |
| On-premises PBX | You, on hardware in a closet or server room | Hardware and installation up front, then maintenance | Sites with existing equipment or strict on-site needs |
| Hybrid | Both: on-site hardware plus cloud features | A mix of the two | Offices moving from an old system in stages |
Every system in the comparison above is a cloud system. For how the switching box behind all of these works, see what is a PBX, and for the cloud version specifically, hosted PBX.
Features an office phone needs, by system
| System | Phone menu (auto attendant) | Call recording | Toll-free numbers |
|---|---|---|---|
| RingCentral | Auto attendant | On-demand on Core | 100 minutes on Core, 1,000 on Advanced, 10,000 on Ultra |
| Nextiva | Auto attendant offered | Offered | Engage: toll-free number + 2,000 minutes; Scale: + 10,000 |
| Zoom Phone | Auto attendants/IVR on all plans | All plans | Extra local or toll-free numbers $5 a month each |
| Vonage | Virtual receptionist listed | Advanced only (15 hours a month) | Not stated |
| Ooma Office | Virtual receptionist on all plans | Pro and Pro Plus | One free toll-free number with 500 inbound minutes a month |
| Google Voice | Standard and Premier only | On-demand (Starter, Standard); automatic (Premier) | Not stated |
| Grasshopper | Phone menu (IVR) | Solo Plus and Small Business (not True Solo) | Local, toll-free or vanity number |
From each company's pricing and plan pages. "Not stated" means the company's pricing page does not say.
Phone menu
The auto attendant answers with "press 1 for sales, 2 for service." It is the feature that varies most by plan: Ooma Office includes it on every plan, Google Voice reserves it for Standard and up, and Zoom Phone lists unlimited auto attendants/IVR on every plan. See auto attendant phone systems.
Ring groups and queues
A ring group rings several phones at once; a queue holds callers until someone is free. Ooma lists ring groups on every plan and call queuing on Pro Plus (Ooma); Google Voice puts ring groups and queuing on Workspace Standard.
Recording
Useful for training and disputes. Vonage records only on Advanced and caps it at 15 hours a month; Ooma records from Pro; Google Voice records on demand on every paid plan.
Texting
Business texting now needs carrier registration. Grasshopper charges a $19.50 one-time registration fee and $1.50 a month (Grasshopper); Ooma Essentials has no texting, and Pro allows up to 250 messages a month (Ooma).
Office phones: desk, cordless or apps
Every system here includes mobile and desktop apps, so a desk phone is optional. When you do want handsets, check the provider's supported list first, because support varies more than price.
| Phone type | Best for | What to know |
|---|---|---|
| Corded desk phone | Front desks, shared phones, people who want line keys | PoE models run from the network cable; Google Voice works with HP Poly phones; Zoom asks for Zoom Certified phones |
| Wireless (Wi-Fi or DECT cordless) | Warehouses, shops, people who walk the floor | Wi-Fi models such as the Grandstream WP816 give 6 hours of talk time on that model; 3CX lists several Yealink and Snom DECT models |
| Softphone app | Remote staff and anyone who works from a cell phone | Included with every system in the table; Grasshopper is built around its apps |
For a wireless business phone system, the simplest route is the mobile app every provider includes. If you need real handsets without cables, DECT systems pair cordless handsets with a base station, and Wi-Fi phones join your existing wireless network. Models, line counts and prices are on VoIP phones; for systems built around many lines on one desk, see multi-line phone systems.
Toll-free numbers and texting for an office
An 800 number is included on some plans and missing from others. Ooma Office includes one free toll-free number with 500 inbound minutes a month; RingCentral includes toll-free minutes by plan (100 minutes on Core, 1,000 on Advanced, 10,000 on Ultra); Nextiva adds a toll-free number on its higher plans (Engage: toll-free number + 2,000 minutes; Scale: + 10,000); Zoom sells extra local or toll-free numbers at $5 a month each (Zoom); Grasshopper offers local, toll-free or vanity numbers (Grasshopper); Google's Voice plan comparison lists local numbers only. For more, see toll-free business numbers.
Grasshopper and Vonage both require registration before business texting. Grasshopper lists the cost openly: $19.50 once and $1.50 a month. Vonage says Campaign Registry fees apply to the mandatory registration for SMS. Ooma includes texting only from Pro, with up to 250 messages a month.
Remote and hybrid offices
Every system here runs on cell phones and computers through its apps, so staff can answer the office number from home. The differences are in meetings and chat: Vonage Premium adds video meetings for up to 200 people and team messaging; Ooma adds video for up to 25 on Pro and up to 100 plus team chat on Pro Plus; Google Voice works inside Gmail and alongside Meet. Hot desking, where staff sign in to a shared desk phone, is listed on Ooma Pro Plus.
How many lines does an office need?
With a cloud system you do not buy "lines" the way you did with copper. You pay for users (sometimes called extensions or lines), and each user can take calls at the same time as the others. The practical count is the number of people who answer calls, plus any shared phones such as a lobby or a break room. Most systems price each of those as a user.
Grasshopper is the exception: it prices the whole account and limits extensions instead. True Solo has 1 extension, Solo Plus has 3, and Small Business has unlimited extensions, with extra numbers at $9 a month each (Grasshopper). Vonage calls its unit a line on annual contracts and an extension on monthly ones; either way it is one unit per person.
Setting up an office phone system
Keeping your number is protected by federal rules. The FCC says simple ports must be processed in one business day and your old company cannot refuse to port your number, even if you owe money (FCC). It also advises not to cancel your existing service before starting service with the new company (FCC). Ooma says porting regular US and Canada numbers is free, and that its phones arrive set up so installation takes about 15 minutes (Ooma).
Moving from a landline or an old phone system
Many offices are switching because their copper lines are going away; the FCC describes the tech transition as moving network infrastructure from copper wire to optical fiber (FCC). Three things keep the move smooth. First, start the port with the new provider and keep the old service running until the number moves. Second, check the old contract: the FCC notes it may contain early termination fees or outstanding balances you must still pay (FCC). Third, if you are replacing an on-site system that makes staff dial 9 for an outside line, make sure the new setup lets anyone dial 911 directly. More on the trade-offs: VoIP vs landline and business landline service.
911 rules every office phone system must meet
Two federal requirements apply directly to office phone systems with several lines.
- Direct dialing (Kari's Law). Anyone must be able to call 911 from any station without first dialing a 9 or any other prefix (47 CFR 9.16).
- Notification. When someone dials 911, the system must alert a central location, on site or off, where someone is likely to see or hear it (FCC). Installers, managers and operators must make sure direct dialing works (FCC).
- Your address on file. VoIP providers must provide 911 as a standard feature, may not let you opt out, and must collect your physical location before service starts (FCC).
Cloud phones need power and internet. Phone companies whose service is not powered by the line must tell new customers about backup power and offer a battery with at least 24 hours of standby (FCC).
Costs beyond the plan price
| Cost | Who charges it | Detail |
|---|---|---|
| Taxes and regulatory fees | Every system | Added on top of every list price; see business phone system pricing |
| Texting registration | Grasshopper: $19.50 one-time plus $1.50 a month; Vonage: Campaign Registry fees | Carrier rules for business texting |
| Extra numbers | Grasshopper: $9 a month each | Ooma includes one toll-free number with 500 inbound minutes |
| Extra toll-free minutes | Ooma: $15 a month for 1,000 or $30 a month for 2,500 | From Ooma |
| Desk phones | Bought or rented from the provider | Prices on VoIP phones |
| Leaving early | Vonage annual contracts: early termination fees up to the total contract price | From Vonage terms |
Office phone systems by office size
1 to 4 people
A per-account plan can beat per-user pricing here. Grasshopper's Solo Plus covers unlimited users and three extensions for $25 a month billed annually; Google Voice standalone is $10 for one person. Add desk phones only where someone sits at a front desk.
5 to 20 people
Per-user systems fit best. Ooma Office lists a menu on every plan at $19.95 a user, and RingCentral Core lists an auto attendant at $20 paid annually: $99.75 and $100 a month for five, $199.50 and $200 for ten. Zoom Phone, which lists auto attendants on every plan, is cheaper still: $80 a month for five on annual billing.
20 people and up
Look at queues, reporting and integrations, which sit on higher plans: RingCentral Advanced and Ultra, Nextiva Engage and Scale, and Ooma Pro Plus with call queuing. At this size, the gap between monthly and annual billing is real money.
Which office phone system to choose
| Your office | Start with | Why |
|---|---|---|
| Office with a front desk and desk phones, no contract | Ooma Office Essentials | Virtual receptionist, ring groups and music on hold on every plan; month to month (Ooma) |
| Teams already on Zoom | Zoom Phone | $16 a user billed annually; auto attendants, recording and SMS on every plan |
| Lowest price, willing to sign for a year | Vonage Mobile | $13.99 a line on an annual contract; desk phones need Premium |
| Office that runs on Gmail | Google Voice Starter or Standard | Calls in Gmail; phone menu from Standard |
| Busy sales or service desk | RingCentral or Nextiva | Larger plan ranges, including call center add-ons; see call center phone systems |
| One owner or a mobile crew, no desk phones | Grasshopper | One price for the account; local, toll-free or vanity numbers |
Five mistakes that raise the bill
- Pricing the plan without the menu. On Google Voice the menu costs $10 more per user than Starter; check which plan carries it on every system.
- Signing for a year before your headcount settles. Vonage's early termination fees can reach the full contract price.
- Forgetting texting registration. It is a separate fee on Grasshopper and Vonage, and Ooma's entry plan has no texting.
- Buying phones the provider does not support. Google Voice works with HP Poly phones; Zoom asks for Zoom Certified phones; Grasshopper supports none.
- Leaving 911 addresses blank. Providers must collect each location before service starts, and multi-line systems must allow direct 911 dialing.
Questions to ask before you sign
- Is the phone menu on the plan I am pricing, or only on a higher one?
- Which desk phone models do you support, and can I bring the ones I own?
- Is the low price an annual contract, and what does it cost to leave early?
- What texting registration fees will I pay, and how many texts are included?
- Is a toll-free number included, and how many minutes come with it?
- How does 911 notification work on your system, and where do I update each user's address?
- What happens to calls when our internet or power goes down?
Related: cloud phone systems and the Zoom Phone review.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best office phone system for a small business?
For an office with a front desk and desk phones, Zoom Phone lists auto attendants on every plan at $16 a user billed annually ($18 monthly), Ooma Office lists a phone menu on every plan at $19.95 a user with no contract, and RingCentral Core lists an auto attendant at $20 paid annually. Teams on Gmail should price Google Voice, and a solo owner with no desk phones should look at Grasshopper.
How much does an office phone system cost?
Entry plans in our comparison run from $13.99 to $20 a user a month on annual billing, before taxes and fees. A 5-person office costs between $69.95 and $100 a month on per-user plans, or $55 on Grasshopper's per-account Small Business plan.
Do businesses still use landline phones?
Many do, but phone companies are moving their networks from copper wire to optical fiber, the FCC says (FCC). See business landline service and VoIP vs landline.
Can I just plug a VoIP phone into my router?
The phone connects to your network with a cable or Wi-Fi, but it only works once your phone provider supports and sets up that model. Google Voice, for example, supports HP Poly phones that set themselves up from the admin console.
What are the downsides of VoIP?
It depends on your internet connection and power. Google warns that emergency calling will not be available on Google Voice during a power outage or internet loss (Google), and the lowest prices often need an annual contract.
Do I need desk phones for an office phone system?
No. Every system in our comparison includes mobile and desktop apps. Desk phones help at front desks and shared stations; Grasshopper sells none, though its FAQ says a VoIP desk phone with an internet connection should work.