Best Business Phone System

Home / Zoom Phone Review: Is Zoom Phone Right for Your Business?

Zoom Phone Review: Is Zoom Phone Right for Your Business?

Zoom Phone is good value, especially for businesses already on Zoom: $16 a user billed annually adds a number, calling, texting, fax, call recording, AI call summaries, and auto attendants with call queues on every plan. The catches: headline prices are billed annually, and the AI receptionist is a 100-minute trial.

By Eric Lindqvist. Last checked November 2, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

On this page
  1. The verdict
  2. Zoom Phone at a glance
  3. How Zoom bills Zoom Phone
  4. What each Zoom Phone plan adds
  5. Plan by plan: who each one is for
  6. Zoom Phone features by plan
  7. What Zoom Phone costs at 1, 5, 10 and 25 users
  8. Phone menus and call queues
  9. AI on Zoom Phone
  10. Adding up the extras
  11. Where Zoom Phone is strong
  12. Where Zoom Phone falls short
  13. Zoom Phone pros and cons at a glance
  14. Which Zoom Phone plan to choose
  15. Zoom Phone vs Nextiva, RingCentral and Ooma
  16. Zoom Phone vs Quo for texting teams
  17. Year-one cost for five people, with common extras
  18. Metered or unlimited calling
  19. Zoom Phone for different kinds of business
  20. Zoom Phone vs Google Voice for a small team
  21. Switching to Zoom Phone
  22. A 12-person office, worked through
  23. How a call moves through Zoom Phone
  24. The AI features, explained
  25. What Zoom's pricing page does not tell you
  26. Zoom Phone vs Dialpad
  27. Desk phones and hardware
  28. Twenty-five users: which plan?
  29. Zoom Phone vs RingCentral in more detail
  30. Calling abroad on Zoom Phone
  31. Who should not pick Zoom Phone
  32. Setting up Zoom Phone
  33. Is Zoom Phone worth it?
  34. Questions to ask Zoom
  35. Frequently asked questions

The verdict

Zoom Phone is good value for a business that already meets on Zoom, and a credible office phone system in its own right. For $16 a user billed annually it adds a domestic number, calling, texting, online fax, call recording and AI call summaries to the Zoom app, and Zoom's comparison table lists unlimited auto attendants/IVR and call queues (ACD groups) on every Phone plan (Zoom). The main trade-offs are the billing (the headline prices are annual) and the AI receptionist, which comes as a 100-minute trial.

Zoom Phone at a glance

ItemDetail
How it is soldZoom Workplace plans with Phone added: Workplace Basic, Pro or Business
PlansUS & CA Unlimited $16, Pro Plus $20.50, Business Plus $24.50 a user a month billed annually
Monthly price shown when billed monthly$18, $24 and $29
Metered option$10.50 billed annually ($12 monthly) a user with metered calling, chosen at checkout
Phone menu and queuesUnlimited auto attendants/IVR and ACD groups with call queueing on every plan
Every planDomestic number, SMS and MMS, online fax, call recording, post-call AI summaries
AI receptionistVirtual Agent Receptionist, free trial with 100 minutes
SupportZoom's comparison table marks 24x7 live chat and phone support for standalone Phone customers but says support varies when paired with Workplace plans; its Technical Support rows limit live chat to accounts spending over $10 a month and live phone support to accounts over $200 a month
Free trialStart free trial button on US & CA Unlimited; length not stated

From Zoom's Zoom Phone pricing page, read November 2, 2026: auto attendants, call queues, support, trial, monthly price. Team tables by plan are also on Zoom Phone pricing.

How Zoom bills Zoom Phone

The prices on Zoom's plan cards carry a footnote: "All plans are billed annually as a single upfront charge. Monthly rates shown are calculated by dividing the annual total by 12" (Zoom). So $16 a user means $192 a user paid once a year. Zoom also shows a monthly price when billed monthly: $18 on US & CA Unlimited. Over a year, monthly billing costs $24 more per user on the entry plan, $42 more on Pro Plus and $54 more on Business Plus. Zoom's selector says annual billing saves "up to 15%" (Zoom).

One caution: on Zoom's page the same footnote mark also sits next to the monthly-billing prices, so the page does not make fully clear whether a "billed monthly" plan is charged month by month or as one upfront payment. Confirm the billing term and the renewal date at checkout before you commit, and ask for it in writing if the difference matters to your cash flow.

What each Zoom Phone plan adds

Zoom Phone plans, top to bottomBusiness Plus$24.50: unlimited online fax, 300-person meetings, SSOPro Plus$20.50: unlimited domestic calling, 30-hour meetings, AI notesUS & CA Unlimited$16: calling, SMS, auto attendants, queues, recordingZoom Phone plans, top to bottomBusiness Plus$24.50: unlimited online fax, 300-personmeetings, SSOPro Plus$20.50: unlimited domestic calling, 30-hourmeetings, AI notesUS & CA Unlimited$16: calling, SMS, auto attendants, queues,recording
Per user per month billed annually, from Zoom's pricing page, November 2, 2026.

The entry plan already carries the phone features: domestic calling, SMS and MMS, 50 pages of online fax a month, metered international calling, a domestic number, call recording, integrations with Salesforce, Slack, Microsoft and Google, and post-call summaries, voicemail prioritization and task extraction (Zoom). The upper plans change mostly the Zoom Workplace side. Pro Plus makes domestic calling unlimited and lifts meetings to 30 hours (Zoom); Business Plus adds unlimited fax and 300-person meetings (Zoom). Each step costs $4.50 and then $4 more per user.

Plan by plan: who each one is for

US & CA Unlimited, $16

Phone added to Workplace Basic. Everything a small office needs on the phone side: menu, queues, SMS, fax pages, recording and AI summaries. Meetings stop at 40 minutes. AI note-taking is limited to 3 uses a month. Metered calling at $10.50 billed annually ($12 monthly) for light callers.

Pro Plus, $20.50

Phone added to Workplace Pro. Unlimited domestic calling, 30-hour meetings and unlimited AI notes. Pick it when the team lives in long Zoom meetings, not for extra phone features.

Business Plus, $24.50

Phone added to Workplace Business. Unlimited fax, 300-person meetings and single sign-on with managed domains, for firms with IT requirements.

Add-ons

Extra numbers $5 a month, International Calling $10 a month, and the $25 Customer Engagement Pack for queue analytics. The AI receptionist is a 100-minute trial.

Zoom Phone features by plan

FeatureUS & CA UnlimitedPro PlusBusiness Plus
Domestic callingUnlimited or meteredUnlimitedUnlimited
Unlimited auto attendants/IVRYesYesYes
ACD groups with call queueingYesYesYes
Domestic SMS and MMSYesYesYes
Online fax50 pages a month50 pages a monthUnlimited
Call recordingYesYesYes
Post-call AI summaries, voicemail prioritization, task extractionYesYesYes
AI note-taking (My Notes)3 a monthUnlimitedUnlimited
Meetings40 minutes, 100 people30 hours, 100 people30 hours, 300 people
Single sign-on, managed domainsNoNoYes
Live chat (accounts over $10 a month)YesYesYes
Live phone support (accounts over $200 a month)YesYesYes
Virtual Agent Receptionist100-minute trial100-minute trial100-minute trial

From Zoom's pricing page and its comparison table (auto attendants, queues, AI note-taking, support): Pro Plus lists "All of US & CA Unlimited, and," Business Plus "All of Pro Plus, and." Support rows apply on every plan by account spend; the 24x7 row is marked for standalone Phone customers, with support "will vary when paired with meetings plans" (Zoom). More on single sign-on in Zoom Phone pricing. "No" means not listed for that plan.

What Zoom Phone costs at 1, 5, 10 and 25 users

TeamUS & CA Unlimited (annual / monthly)Pro PlusBusiness Plus
1 user$16 / $18$20.50 / $24$24.50 / $29
5 users$80 / $90$102.50 / $120$122.50 / $145
10 users$160 / $180$205 / $240$245 / $290
25 users$400 / $450$512.50 / $600$612.50 / $725

Per month, before taxes, fees and add-ons, worked out from Zoom's published prices, the same figures our pricing calculator uses. The annual figure is the annual charge divided by 12; the monthly figure is the price Zoom shows when billed monthly.

What 5 users pay for Zoom Phone each month, billed annuallyMetered calling$52.50US & CA Unlimited$80Pro Plus$102.50Business Plus$122.50US dollars per month, 5 usersWhat 5 users pay for Zoom Phone each month, billed annuallyMetered calling$52.50US & CA Unlimited$80Pro Plus$102.50Business Plus$122.50US dollars per month, 5 users
Annual-billing price per user times 5, before taxes, fees and add-ons. Metered calling is offered at checkout on the entry plan.

Five people on US & CA Unlimited cost $80 a month billed annually. The metered option at $10.50 billed annually brings that to $52.50, a saving of $5.50 a user, in exchange for paying per minute; Zoom's page says metered is "available at checkout" (Zoom). Adding one toll-free number for the team takes the unlimited plan to $85 a month.

Every tier is priced per user at the same rate whatever the team size, so the bill grows in a straight line with the team and the decision is about features per person rather than volume. Compare the 25-user column with the alternatives below before deciding that the upper tiers are worth it for the whole team.

Phone menus and call queues

Zoom's comparison table lists "Unlimited auto attendants/IVR" and "Automatic call distribution groups (ACD) with call queueing" on US & CA Unlimited, Pro Plus and Business Plus (Zoom, Zoom). That means the entry plan can answer with "press 1 for sales," and hold callers in a queue for the next free person. For call center teams that want reporting on those queues, Zoom sells a Customer Engagement Pack with "Enhanced call queue analytics and historical insights" for $25 a month (Zoom). Other systems with a menu on the entry plan are compared on auto attendant phone systems.

AI on Zoom Phone

Zoom builds AI into the entry plan: post-call summaries, voicemail prioritization and task extraction. Its Virtual Agent Receptionist is "AI that answers calls for you," with a "Free trial with 100 minutes - included with Phone plans" (Zoom). The pricing page does not show what it costs after the trial. For the AI options on other systems, see AI phone systems.

Adding up the extras

A five-person team on US & CA Unlimited that adds a toll-free number and a second local number ($5 a month each), the International Calling add-on ($10 a month) and the Customer Engagement Pack ($25 a month) pays $125 a month at the prices listed, before taxes. Zoom lists the add-ons with a monthly price but does not say on the pricing page whether international calling and the Customer Engagement Pack are charged per user or per account, so confirm that before you add them.

Where Zoom Phone is strong

  • A full phone system on the entry plan. Auto attendants, call queues, SMS, fax, recording and AI summaries are not held back for higher tiers.
  • One app for meetings and calls. Teams already on Zoom add a phone without a new tool.
  • A cheap metered option. $10.50 billed annually ($12 monthly) a user for light callers (Zoom).
  • Low-cost extras. Extra local, toll-free or international numbers are $5 a month (Zoom); international calling to more than 15 countries is a $10 add-on (Zoom).
  • Lowest menu price month to month, too. At $18 billed monthly, the entry plan is still the cheapest per-user plan here with a phone menu included; Ooma Office Essentials at $19.95 with no contract is the lowest that needs no commitment at all.

Where Zoom Phone falls short

  • Headline prices are annual. They are billed as a single upfront charge; monthly billing costs $2 more a user on the entry plan.
  • Support depends on spend. Live chat over $10 a month, live phone support over $200 a month (Zoom). A five-person team on the entry plan pays $80 a month, short of the phone support threshold.
  • AI receptionist is a trial. 100 minutes, with no price shown after that.
  • Short meetings on the entry plan. 40 minutes per meeting.
  • Free trial length not stated. Zoom's page offers a free trial on US & CA Unlimited but does not state its length.
  • Contact center is separate. Zoom Contact Center is its own product, priced from $69 an agent a month billed annually (Zoom).

Zoom Phone pros and cons at a glance

ProCon
Price$16 a user on annual billing, $18 monthly; $10.50 billed annually ($12 monthly) meteredBilled annually upfront; monthly billing costs more
Call handlingAuto attendants and ACD queues on every planQueue analytics is a $25 add-on
AISummaries, voicemail prioritization and task extraction includedAI receptionist only as a 100-minute trial
MeetingsZoom meetings in the same app40-minute limit on the entry plan
SupportZoom's comparison table marks 24x7 live chat and phone support for standalone Phone customers but says support varies when paired with Workplace plans; its Technical Support rows limit live chat to accounts spending over $10 a month and live phone support to accounts over $200 a monthContact center is a separate product

Which Zoom Phone plan to choose

If you needPlanPrice, billed annually
Light callers who mostly use meetings and chatUS & CA Unlimited, metered$10.50 a user
Everyday business calling with a menu and queuesUS & CA Unlimited$16 a user
Long meetings and AI notes for every meetingPro Plus$20.50 a user
Single sign-on, unlimited fax, 300-person meetingsBusiness Plus$24.50 a user

Zoom Phone vs Nextiva, RingCentral and Ooma

Entry planPhone menu5 users a month10 users a month
Zoom PhoneAuto attendants/IVR on all plans$80$160
NextivaAuto attendant offered$75$150
RingCentralAuto attendant$100$200
Ooma OfficeVirtual receptionist on all plans$99.75$199.50

Entry plan list prices per month on annual billing where offered (Ooma Office publishes one price with no contract), worked out from each company's published prices. Sources: Nextiva, RingCentral, Ooma.

On price, Nextiva Core is $5 a month cheaper than Zoom for five people on its 12-month term, and RingCentral Core costs $20 more. Ooma Office costs $19.75 more for five but needs no annual commitment. Zoom's edge is the bundle with Zoom Workplace; Nextiva's is its customer tools; RingCentral's is breadth and integrations; Ooma's is month-to-month pricing. Reviews: Nextiva, RingCentral, Ooma.

Zoom Phone vs Quo for texting teams

Quo is built around texting, with calling and texting to US and Canadian numbers on every plan and its Sona AI agent answering 10 calls a month included (Quo). Zoom Phone includes domestic SMS and MMS on every plan too, plus auto attendants on the entry plan, where Quo puts phone menus on Business at $23 a user. A team that texts heavily and wants shared inboxes should read the Quo review; a team that needs a menu and meetings in one app will find Zoom cheaper.

Year-one cost for five people, with common extras

SetupPer monthYear oneWhat it includes
Calling only, metered$52.50$630Five users on metered calling
Unlimited calling$80$960Five users on US & CA Unlimited
Plus a toll-free number$85$1,020Adds one $5 extra number
Plus international calling$95$1,140Adds the $10 International Calling add-on
Pro Plus for long meetings$107.50$1,290Pro Plus with the toll-free number

Annual-billing list prices times 12, before taxes and fees; add-on prices as listed on Zoom's pricing page (numbers, international). Add-ons are counted once for the team.

The jump from US & CA Unlimited to Pro Plus is mostly about meetings: for a ten-person team it adds $540 a year, which buys 30-hour meetings, unlimited AI note-taking, 10 GB of cloud storage per user and fuller Zoom Workplace features rather than more phone features. A team that only needs a phone system can stay on the entry plan.

Metered or unlimited calling

The entry plan comes two ways: unlimited domestic calling at $16 a user, or metered calling at $10.50 billed annually ($12 monthly), chosen at checkout (Zoom, monthly view). The plan card does not list the per-minute rate for metered calling, so check it at checkout. Metered suits staff who mostly receive calls or work in chat and meetings; anyone who makes outbound calls all day is safer on unlimited. Pro Plus and Business Plus include unlimited domestic calling only.

Zoom Phone for different kinds of business

Professional services

Firms that meet clients on Zoom get the phone, recording and AI summaries in the same app, with a menu on every plan.

Offices with a reception line

Auto attendants and ACD queues on the entry plan route callers by department and hold them for the next free person.

Distributed teams

Make and receive calls from multiple devices and apps, with one management portal for the admin.

Teams that need fax

50 fax pages a month on the entry plan, unlimited on Business Plus.

Zoom Phone vs Google Voice for a small team

Both bolt a phone onto an office suite. Five people on Google Voice Starter plus Google Workspace Starter at $7 on Google's annual plan cost $85 a month, against $80 on Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited. The difference is the menu: Google Voice Starter has no auto attendant (it starts on Standard at $20 a user), while Zoom lists auto attendants and call queues on its entry plan. Teams that run on Gmail should still read the Google Voice for business review.

Switching to Zoom Phone

Zoom says you can port numbers with no hidden fees, and Zoom Phone works with VoIP desk phones; Zoom sells Mitel, Yealink and Poly phones (details on Zoom Phone pricing). Keep your old service until the port completes, and register a 911 address for every location before go-live: interconnected VoIP providers must provide E911 (47 CFR 9.11), and a multi-line office must allow direct 911 dialing with notification to a central point (FCC).

A 12-person office, worked through

Twelve people on US & CA Unlimited with one toll-free number for the main line pay $197 a month on annual billing, or $221 a month at the monthly price shown when billed monthly. The auto attendant answers the toll-free line, routes "press 1 for sales" to a sales queue and "press 2 for service" to a service queue, and anyone not free is held in the ACD queue until someone is. Everything except the toll-free number comes with the plan.

How a call moves through Zoom Phone

  1. The caller dials your main number or toll-free line.
  2. An auto attendant (IVR) answers with your menu and business hours.
  3. The caller's choice sends the call to a person, a ring group or an ACD queue.
  4. In a queue, the call waits for the next free member of the team.
  5. After the call, Zoom writes a post-call summary; missed calls go to voicemail, which Zoom prioritizes.

The AI features, explained

FeatureWhat it doesWhere
Post-call summariesA written recap of each call, so notes do not depend on memoryEvery plan
Voicemail prioritizationSorts voicemails so urgent ones come firstEvery plan
Task extractionPulls follow-up tasks out of callsEvery plan
AI note-taking (My Notes)Notes for Zoom, third-party and in-person conversations3 uses a month on US & CA Unlimited; unlimited on Pro Plus and Business Plus
Virtual Agent ReceptionistAI that answers calls for you100-minute free trial

What Zoom's pricing page does not tell you

  • The per-minute rate for metered calling on the entry plan.
  • The length of the free trial.
  • What the Virtual Agent Receptionist costs after its 100 free minutes.
  • Whether International Calling and the Customer Engagement Pack are charged per user or per account.

Get these in writing before you buy; they change the real monthly bill more than the choice between plans.

Zoom Phone vs Dialpad

Dialpad Connect Standard is $1 less per user on annual billing, at $15, and lists real-time transcripts and instant call summaries with a 14-day free trial (Dialpad, Dialpad). Zoom brings Zoom meetings and a stated menu and queue on every plan. For teams not already on Zoom, the two are close; see Dialpad pricing.

Desk phones and hardware

Zoom Phone works with VoIP desk phones, and Zoom sells Mitel, Yealink and Poly phones as a device add-on on its pricing page (see Zoom Phone pricing and VoIP phones). Staff can also answer in the Zoom desktop and mobile apps, so a team can mix handsets at the front desk with apps for everyone else.

Twenty-five users: which plan?

At 25 users the plan choice is worth real money: US & CA Unlimited is $400 a month on annual billing, Pro Plus $512.50 and Business Plus $612.50. Moving everyone to Pro Plus for long meetings adds $1,350 a year. If only a few people run long meetings, Zoom's plans are per user, so ask whether those people alone can be on the higher plan.

Zoom Phone vs RingCentral in more detail

Both include a menu, recording and meetings on the entry plan. RingCentral Core is $20 a user paid annually and caps texting at 25 SMS per user a month (RingCentral); Zoom Phone is $16 with domestic SMS and MMS listed and no cap stated. For ten people that is $480 a year in Zoom's favor. RingCentral's strengths are its integration library, Microsoft Teams calling and multi-site tools on Advanced; see the RingCentral review.

Calling abroad on Zoom Phone

International calling is metered on every plan (Zoom). A business that calls a handful of countries regularly can add International Calling, "Unlimited international calling to more than 15 countries and regions," for $10 a month (Zoom), and international numbers are available as $5 extras (Zoom).

Who should not pick Zoom Phone

  • Teams that want the annual price without paying a year up front: Zoom bills annual plans as a single upfront charge.
  • Businesses that want an AI receptionist with a published price after the trial: compare AI phone systems.
  • Teams whose main channel is texting customers from shared inboxes: Quo is built around that.
  • Call centers that need a full contact center, which Zoom sells as a separate product.

Setting up Zoom Phone

  1. Choose the Workplace bundle that matches your meeting needs, then unlimited or metered calling.
  2. Add extra local or toll-free numbers at checkout if you need more than the one included.
  3. Build the auto attendant menu and the ACD queues for each team.
  4. Register a 911 address for each office and remote worker.
  5. Add desk phones or headsets, or answer in the Zoom app.
  6. Decide whether to try the Virtual Agent Receptionist during its 100-minute trial.

Is Zoom Phone worth it?

Yes for most small offices that will pay annually: the entry plan carries a menu, queues, texting, fax, recording and AI summaries at $16 a user, and teams already on Zoom keep one app. Billed monthly it is $18, still the lowest per-user price here for a plan with a phone menu. It is a weaker fit for a business that needs an AI receptionist with a known price today, or a small team that expects live phone support, which Zoom limits to accounts over $200 a month.

Questions to ask Zoom

  1. How long is the free trial, and what happens to our number when it ends?
  2. What does the Virtual Agent Receptionist cost after the 100-minute trial?
  3. Is metered calling cheaper for our minutes than unlimited?
  4. Are the International Calling and Customer Engagement Pack prices per user or per account?
  5. Which desk phones are supported, and is there a device add-on price?

Frequently asked questions

Is Zoom Phone good for small business?

Yes, especially for teams already on Zoom: $16 a user billed annually adds calling, SMS, fax, recording, AI summaries and auto attendants with call queues on every plan.

How much is Zoom Phone per user?

US & CA Unlimited $16, Pro Plus $20.50 and Business Plus $24.50 a user a month billed annually, or $10.50 billed annually ($12 monthly) with metered calling (Zoom). The monthly prices shown when billed monthly are $18, $24 and $29.

Does Zoom Phone have an auto attendant?

Yes. Zoom's comparison table lists unlimited auto attendants/IVR and ACD groups with call queueing on all three Phone plans (Zoom).

Does Zoom Phone have an AI receptionist?

Yes: the Virtual Agent Receptionist, with a free 100-minute trial included with Phone plans (Zoom).

Does Zoom Phone have a free trial?

Zoom's pricing page shows a Start free trial button on US & CA Unlimited; it does not state the length (Zoom).

Can I get a toll-free number on Zoom Phone?

Yes, as an extra number at $5 a month (Zoom).