On this page
- What a cloud phone system is
- Cloud vs on-premises: what actually changes
- Cloud phone systems compared on price and basics
- What 10 users cost per month
- Cloud phone features on each entry plan
- Five users, annual vs monthly billing
- Cheapest cloud phone system by team size
- Five popular cloud systems at 1, 5, 10 and 25 users
- Best cloud phone system for each kind of business
- Cloud phones for remote and hybrid teams
- AI built into cloud phone systems
- The downsides of cloud phones
- How much cloud phones cost
- What to check before you pick a cloud business phone system
- When a cloud phone system is not the right call
- What you need besides the subscription
- Keeping your numbers when you move
- Questions to ask a cloud phone provider
- Reliability and support claims
- Moving your business to a cloud phone system
- Cloud PBX, hosted PBX and VoIP: the terms
- Frequently asked questions
What a cloud phone system is
A cloud phone system is a business phone service that runs on the provider's servers instead of a box in your office. Nextiva calls it "a VoIP-based hosted PBX solution" (Nextiva); Vonage describes it as a system "based in the cloud rather than upon the network of copper wires that makes up the traditional landline system" (Vonage). In practice you rent it per user each month, your staff answer on desk phones, a mobile app or a computer, and you change the menu or add a person from a web portal. A cloud-based phone system, a cloud business phone system and a cloud PBX phone system all mean the same thing here.
RingCentral sums up the split of work: "Your provider manages the hardware and maintenance. You manage the configuration through an admin portal" (RingCentral). The mechanics of the switching layer are covered on hosted PBX and what is a PBX; how voice travels as data is on what is VoIP.
Cloud vs on-premises: what actually changes
| Cloud phone system | On-premises PBX | |
|---|---|---|
| Where the system runs | Provider's data centers | A PBX box in your building |
| Who maintains it | The provider | You or your installer |
| Adding a person | Add a user in the web portal | Program a new extension on site |
| Where staff can answer | Desk phone, app or computer, anywhere with internet | Phones wired to the office system |
| How you pay | Per user (or per account) each month | Equipment up front plus line charges |
| Power and internet outage | Phones on site need internet and power; apps on cell data keep working | Depends on the lines and backup power on site |
Cloud column from RingCentral's and Vonage's descriptions (RingCentral, Vonage).
Cloud phone systems compared on price and basics
| System | Entry price | Phone menu | Texting | 10 users a month |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper | $14 a month per account, billed annually | Phone menu (IVR) | Business texting (SMS/MMS) | $55 (per account) |
| Vonage | $13.99 a line on a 1-year contract | Virtual receptionist listed | SMS and MMS | $139.90 |
| Dialpad | $15 a user, billed annually | Auto-attendants offered | SMS, MMS and group messages | $150 |
| Nextiva | $15 a user, billed annually | Auto attendant offered | Core 100, Engage 500 per user (period not stated); Scale unlimited | $150 |
| Quo | $15 a user, billed annually | Business and Scale only | Unlimited US and Canada texting (carrier registration required) | $150 |
| Zoom Phone | $16 a user, billed annually | Auto attendants/IVR on all plans | Domestic SMS and MMS, all plans | $160 |
| Google Voice | $10 a user, plus Google Workspace | Standard and Premier only | Unlimited US texting | $170 (incl. Workspace) |
| Ooma Office | $19.95 a user, no contract | Virtual receptionist on all plans | Pro 250 a month; Pro Plus 1,000 | $199.50 (no annual price) |
| RingCentral | $20 a user, paid annually | Auto attendant | 25 SMS per user a month on Core (100 Advanced, 200 Ultra); not in the trial | $200 |
| Aircall | $30 a license, 3-license minimum | IVR on all plans | Included (14 countries) | $300 |
Entry prices read from each company's pricing page on November 2, 2026. The 10-user column is the entry plan's list price for 10 people, computed with the same code as our pricing calculator; taxes and fees are extra everywhere.
What 10 users cost per month
The spread is wide. Per-user systems run from $139.90 to $300 a month for ten people, and Grasshopper's flat $55 account price undercuts all of them because it does not charge per person. The cheaper bars usually leave something out: Grasshopper sells no desk phones, Vonage's lowest price needs a 1-year contract, and Google Voice Starter has no phone menu.
Billing term matters as much as the vendor. Ten people on Quo Starter pay $150 a month on annual billing and $190 on monthly billing; on RingCentral Core it is $200 and $300. Over a year that is $1,800 vs $2,280 on Quo and $2,400 vs $3,600 on RingCentral.
Cloud phone features on each entry plan
| System | Call recording | Toll-free numbers | Free trial |
|---|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper | Solo Plus and Small Business, not True Solo (Grasshopper) | Local, toll-free or vanity number | 7 days, no credit card |
| Vonage | Advanced only (15 hours a month) | Not stated | Not stated |
| Dialpad | Offered | Toll-free number support standard | 14 days |
| Nextiva | Offered | Engage: toll-free number + 2,000 minutes; Scale: + 10,000 | No phone-plan trial found |
| Quo | Manual (Starter); automatic (Business, Scale) | One local or toll-free number per user included | 7 days |
| Zoom Phone | All plans | Extra local or toll-free numbers $5 a month each | Free trial offered; length not stated |
| Google Voice | On-demand (Starter, Standard); automatic (Premier) | Not stated | No Voice trial stated |
| Ooma Office | Pro and Pro Plus | One free toll-free number with 500 inbound minutes a month | None found |
| RingCentral | On-demand on Core | 100 minutes on Core, 1,000 on Advanced, 10,000 on Ultra | 14 days, new subscribers |
| Aircall | All plans | One local or toll-free number included; extra numbers $6 a month | Free access offered; length not stated |
Feature notes from each company's own pricing and plan pages; more detail is in our small business phone systems comparison. The phone menu and texting columns are in the price table above.
Five users, annual vs monthly billing
| System | Annual billing, per month | Monthly billing, per month |
|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper | $55 (per account) | $70 (per account) |
| Vonage | $69.95 | $99.95 |
| Dialpad | $75 | $135 |
| Nextiva | $75 | $115 |
| Quo | $75 | $95 |
| Zoom Phone | $80 | $90 |
| Google Voice | $85 (incl. Workspace, billing not labeled) | $92 (incl. Workspace, billing not labeled) |
| Ooma Office | $99.75 (monthly price only) | $99.75 |
| RingCentral | $100 | $150 |
| Aircall | $150 | $200 |
Entry plan for 5 people at list price, worked out from each company's published prices. Where a company publishes only one price, the note says so.
Two patterns stand out. First, systems that publish both terms charge noticeably more month to month, so a team that is sure of its choice saves by committing. Second, a few providers do not discount for a commitment at all: Ooma Office publishes one monthly price with no contract, which suits a team that wants to keep the option of leaving.
Cheapest cloud phone system by team size
| Team | Cheapest per-user plan, annual billing | Cheapest per-user plan, monthly billing | Grasshopper flat price, annual |
|---|---|---|---|
| 1 user | Google Voice $10 | Google Voice $10 | Per-user plan cheaper |
| 5 users | Vonage $69.95 | Zoom Phone $90 | $55 |
| 10 users | Vonage $139.90 | Zoom Phone $180 | $55 |
| 25 users | Vonage $349.75 | Zoom Phone $450 | $55 |
Entry plan list prices per month for the whole team, worked out from each company's published prices; Google Voice includes Workspace Starter for teams. Grasshopper column: the cheapest Grasshopper plan for that many extensions, which from 5 users is Small Business (4 numbers, unlimited extensions); a team happy to share one number can add $3 extensions to Solo Plus instead, priced in the Grasshopper review. Cheapest is not the same as best: check the phone menu and texting columns above before choosing.
Read the table with the features in mind. At 5 users the cheapest per-user plan on annual billing is Vonage at $69.95 a month, which needs a 1-year contract; on monthly billing it is Zoom Phone at $90. Grasshopper's flat $55 undercuts both but gives the team one shared number rather than a line each.
If the plan must include a phone menu, the lowest per-user price is Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited at $16 a user billed annually ($18 monthly); Ooma Office Essentials at $19.95 with no contract is the lowest that needs no commitment at all. Both put an auto attendant on their entry plan, so the menu does not push you up a tier the way it does on Google Voice, Quo or Grasshopper.
Five popular cloud systems at 1, 5, 10 and 25 users
| Entry plan | 1 user | 5 users | 10 users | 25 users |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quo Starter | $15 | $75 | $150 | $375 |
| Nextiva NEXT Core | $15 | $75 | $150 | $375 |
| Zoom Phone US & CA Unlimited | $16 | $80 | $160 | $400 |
| RingCentral Core | $20 | $100 | $200 | $500 |
| Ooma Office Essentials | $19.95 (monthly price only) | $99.75 (monthly price only) | $199.50 (monthly price only) | $498.75 (monthly price only) |
Per month on annual billing where offered, worked out from each company's published prices. Ooma Office publishes one price with no contract.
Best cloud phone system for each kind of business
Solo owner or tiny team
Grasshopper prices the account, not the person: $25 a month billed annually covers unlimited users sharing one number and 3 extensions (Grasshopper). It is built around its apps. Grasshopper review.
Office with a front desk
Ooma Office puts a virtual receptionist, ring groups and hold music on its $19.95 entry plan with no contract. Ooma review.
Teams that text customers
Quo includes calling and texting to US and Canadian numbers on every plan, from $15 a user billed annually (Quo). Phone menus start on Business. Quo review.
Microsoft Teams shops and multi-site firms
RingCentral claims over 600 integrations and calling inside Microsoft Teams (RingCentral); its Advanced plan adds CRM integrations and multiple sites. RingCentral review.
Already paying for Zoom
Zoom Phone adds calling, SMS, call recording and auto attendants from $16 a user billed annually (Zoom). Zoom Phone review.
AI answering built in
Quo's Sona agent, RingCentral's AI Receptionist and Nextiva's XBert are priced differently. See AI phone systems for what each costs per call.
Cloud phones for remote and hybrid teams
The biggest practical change is where people can answer. RingCentral describes calls arriving "on whichever device you're using: desk phone, mobile app, or desktop software" (RingCentral), and Zoom lists "Make & receive calls from multiple devices and apps" on its entry plan (Zoom). A receptionist can sit at a desk phone while sales staff answer the same queue from a laptop at home, and the business number shows on outgoing calls from either.
AI built into cloud phone systems
Most cloud systems now include some AI in the plan price: Zoom Phone lists post-call summaries on every plan, Dialpad Connect lists real-time transcripts, and Quo includes 10 AI-answered calls a month. AI that answers calls is usually extra, billed per call, per minute or as an add-on. The costs side by side are on AI phone systems.
The downsides of cloud phones
- No internet, no office phones. Calls travel over your connection. Staff can switch to the mobile app on cell data, but desk phones go quiet when the router does.
- Power. A provider whose service is not line-powered must offer you a backup power option with at least 24 hours of standby (FCC). Buying the battery is your call.
- 911 depends on the address you register. E911 is a mandatory condition of service for interconnected VoIP (47 CFR 9.11), and the provider must get your physical location before service starts (FCC). When a person works from home, that address has to be updated.
- Per-user prices add up. Ten people on RingCentral Core monthly cost $300 a month; a flat per-account plan or an annual term cuts that, but the annual term locks you in.
- Texting has carrier fees. US carriers require business texting registration: Quo lists a one-time $19.50 review fee and a $1.50 to $3 monthly fee (Quo); Grasshopper lists $19.50 and $1.50 a month (Grasshopper).
- Annual pricing comes with terms. Nextiva's annual price applies to new customers with 1 to 100 employees on a 12-month or longer term (Nextiva); Vonage's lowest price needs a 1-year contract.
How much cloud phones cost
| What you pay for | Range on published prices |
|---|---|
| Cheapest per person | $10 a user (Google Voice Starter, standalone or plus Workspace for teams) |
| Typical entry plan, annual billing | $15 to $16 a user (Dialpad, Nextiva, Quo, Zoom Phone) |
| Typical entry plan, monthly billing | $19 to $30 a user (Quo, Nextiva, RingCentral) |
| Flat per-account pricing | Grasshopper $14 to $55 a month billed annually |
| AI receptionist | Included credits or a trial on some plans; add-ons elsewhere |
| Extra numbers | $5 a month on Quo and Zoom Phone, $9 on Grasshopper |
Nextiva Core $15 and $23 (Nextiva), RingCentral Core $20 and $30 (RingCentral), Quo extra numbers, Zoom extra numbers, Grasshopper extra numbers.
What to check before you pick a cloud business phone system
- Price per person on the term you will actually sign. Compare the monthly price if you will not commit for a year.
- The features on the plan you can afford. Phone menus and automatic recording are often one tier up: on Quo both start at Business (Quo).
- Desk phones. Grasshopper sells no desk phones and is built around its apps (its FAQ says a VoIP desk phone with an internet connection should work: Grasshopper); Nextiva says VoIP desk phones work with every plan but are bought separately (Nextiva).
- Texting limits. Nextiva Core includes 100 business texts per user (Nextiva); RingCentral Core lists 25 SMS per user a month (RingCentral).
- Reliability claims. RingCentral cites "a 5-year record of 99.999% availability in 46 countries" (RingCentral). Ask any provider for its service-level terms in writing.
- 911 setup. Every location and home worker needs a registered address, and a multi-line office must allow direct 911 dialing with notification to a central point (FCC).
When a cloud phone system is not the right call
- Weak or shared internet at the office. Every call depends on it. Fix the connection first, or plan on staff answering in the mobile app over cell data.
- Equipment on the line. An alarm panel, fax machine or elevator phone may need checking with its maker before you switch. See VoIP vs landline.
- A large on-premises system with years of life left. If you own the equipment and it works, the saving from moving may be small until it needs replacing.
- Heavy international calling. Most entry plans include domestic calling only; Grasshopper and Quo bill other countries per minute (Grasshopper, Quo).
What you need besides the subscription
| Item | What it means | Notes |
|---|---|---|
| Internet | A working broadband connection at each site | Calls travel over it |
| Phones or apps | Desk phones, a headset, or just the mobile and desktop apps | Nextiva and others sell or support desk phones bought separately |
| Numbers | Port the numbers you have, or pick new local or toll-free ones | Quo and Grasshopper offer local and toll-free; extra numbers cost $5 to $9 a month |
| 911 details | A registered address for every site and remote worker | Required before service starts |
| Backup power | Optional battery for desk phones and router | Providers must offer at least 24 hours of standby |
| Texting registration | Carrier review of your business before texting | Around $19.50 once plus a monthly fee |
Keeping your numbers when you move
You do not have to change numbers to move to the cloud. FCC rules require simple ports, generally one line without complex switching changes, to be processed in one business day (FCC), and an interconnected VoIP provider "must facilitate" a customer's valid porting request (47 CFR 52.34). The FCC's own tip: do not cancel the old service before the new one is in place (FCC). Quo, for example, submits the request and negotiates the port date for you (Quo).
Questions to ask a cloud phone provider
- What is the price per user on the term we will sign, and what does monthly billing cost?
- Which plan first includes the phone menu, call queues and automatic recording?
- How many texts and toll-free minutes are included per user, and what does more cost?
- What taxes and regulatory fees will the first bill show?
- Which desk phones work, and are they sold, rented or bring-your-own?
- What support is included: chat, phone, hours?
Reliability and support claims
| Provider | What it says |
|---|---|
| RingCentral | A 5-year record of 99.999% availability in 46 countries (its claim) |
| Zoom Phone | Live chat for accounts over $10 a month and live phone support over $200 a month (its comparison table also marks 24x7 chat and phone support for standalone Phone customers) |
| Nextiva | 24/7 customer support on all plans |
| Grasshopper | 24/7 support on its pricing page |
Sources: RingCentral, Zoom, Nextiva, Grasshopper. These are the companies' own statements; ask for service-level terms in the contract.
Moving your business to a cloud phone system
- Count users, numbers and who needs a desk phone versus the app.
- Write down your call flow: who answers first, what the menu says, where after-hours calls go.
- Pick the plan that includes that flow; check the monthly and annual price.
- Order or port your numbers. Keep the old service live until the port completes.
- Register each location's 911 address and set the 911 notification contact.
- Install the apps, set up phones, test the menu and voicemail from an outside line.
Cloud PBX, hosted PBX and VoIP: the terms
VoIP is how the voice travels: as data over the internet. A PBX is the switch that gives people extensions and routes calls. A cloud PBX, or hosted PBX, is that switch running at the provider. A cloud phone system is the whole package you buy: the hosted PBX, the numbers, the apps and usually texting and video. Shopping for a "cloud VoIP phone system" means the same thing.
Frequently asked questions
What is a cloud phone system?
A business phone service hosted on the provider's servers instead of hardware in your office. Calls travel over the internet and ring on desk phones, apps or computers; you manage it from a web portal (RingCentral).
How much do cloud phones cost?
Entry plans run from $10 a user (Google Voice Starter) to $30 a user on monthly billing (RingCentral Core). Ten people cost $139.90 to $300 a month on per-user plans with annual billing, before taxes and fees.
What is the best cloud-based phone system?
It depends on the team: Grasshopper for a solo owner, Ooma Office for an office with a front desk, Quo for texting-heavy teams, RingCentral for Microsoft Teams users and multi-site firms, and Zoom Phone for businesses already on Zoom.
What are the downsides of cloud phones?
They need internet and power at each desk, 911 depends on the address you register, per-user prices grow with the team, and business texting carries carrier registration fees.
Do cloud phones work in a power outage?
Desk phones need power and internet. Providers whose service is not line-powered must offer backup power with at least 24 hours of standby (FCC), and mobile apps keep working on cell data.
Is a cloud PBX the same as a hosted PBX?
Yes. Both mean the call-switching system runs at the provider instead of in your building. See hosted PBX for how it works.