On this page
- Three kinds of free VoIP service
- Free VoIP services compared
- Free calls to real numbers: Google Voice, TextFree, Talkatone
- App calling: WhatsApp, Signal and the end of Skype
- 911 and free VoIP
- Free business VoIP: trials and 3CX
- A free home phone line over VoIP
- Which free option fits
- Questions to ask before relying on a free VoIP service
- Free calling vs a free number
- Frequently asked questions
Three kinds of free VoIP service
"Free VoIP" covers three different things, and the difference decides whether you can call a landline, whether 911 works and whether you may use it for business. This page is about free calling. If what you need is a free number for customers to dial, see free business phone numbers.
Free VoIP services compared
| Service | Calls regular phone numbers? | Business use | 911 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Voice (free plan) | Yes: almost all US and Canada numbers free from the US | Personal, consumer use only | Not available |
| TextFree | Yes; says calling is free | Not stated | Not stated |
| Talkatone | Most US and Canadian numbers | Not stated | Not stated |
| Not stated in its terms | Not stated | No access, per its terms | |
| Signal | Not stated in its terms | Not stated | No access, per its terms |
| 3CX SMB Free | Calls to regular numbers need a SIP trunk (not included) | Yes: built for businesses, up to 10 users | Not stated |
| Business system trials | Yes | Yes | Required on interconnected VoIP (FCC rules) |
Each row links to the company's own page. Skype is no longer an option (below).
Free calls to real numbers: Google Voice, TextFree, Talkatone
Google Voice free plan
Google says that when you call from the US, almost all Google Voice calls to the US and Canada are free, while some calls to specific numbers in the US and Canada cost 1 cent per minute and calls outside the US are at listed rates (Google). The free plan, Basic Google Voice, "is for personal, consumer use" and needs an existing phone number to forward calls to (Google).
TextFree and Talkatone
TextFree answers its own question "Is TextFree really free?" with "your number, texting, and calling are all free" (TextFree). A free TextFree number expires after 30 days without use unless you pay for TextFree Plus (TextFree) at $9.99 a month. Talkatone offers free calls and texts to most US and Canadian numbers and unlimited Talkatone-to-Talkatone calls worldwide (Talkatone).
What the Google Voice plans cost
| Plan | Price | What changes |
|---|---|---|
| Basic | $0 a month | Unlimited domestic calling and texting; existing mobile number required; no emergency calling |
| Starter (standalone) | $10 a month | 24/7 support, transfer and recording, emergency calling; number not reclaimed for inactivity |
| Standard (standalone) | $20 a month ($10 for the first 6 months) | Adds auto attendants |
| Starter (Workspace add-on) | $10 a user a month on top of a Google Workspace plan | For up to 10 users |
Prices from Google's Voice product page; plan types from Google's account types page. Standalone plans are US only. Full detail on Google Voice pricing.
Our math, first-year cost: Basic $0; Starter $120 (12 months at $10); Standard $180 with the 6-month discount (6 months at $10, then 6 at $20), and $240 a year after that.
App calling: WhatsApp, Signal and the end of Skype
WhatsApp's terms say there are "important differences" between the service and a mobile or fixed-line phone, and that it does "not provide access to emergency services." Calls are not entirely free either: you are responsible for "carrier data plans, Internet fees, and other fees and taxes" (WhatsApp terms).
Signal
Signal's terms carry a section headed "No Access to Emergency Services" and say its services "do not provide access to emergency service providers like the police, fire department, hospitals, or other public safety organizations" (Signal terms).
Skype is retired
Microsoft says that as of May 5, 2025, Skype is retired, all Skype Number subscriptions ended in May 2026, and Skype Number port-out requests are no longer available. It points Skype users to Microsoft Teams Free (Microsoft).
The law draws the same line. Federal rules define interconnected VoIP as two-way voice over broadband that lets users receive calls from and place calls to the public phone network (47 CFR 9.3). A service that does not do both is non-interconnected VoIP (47 U.S.C. 153). The 911 rules below are written for interconnected VoIP.
911 and free VoIP
This is the limit that matters most. Interconnected VoIP providers must provide E911 "as a condition of providing service to a consumer" (47 CFR 9.11). The FCC says they must provide 911 automatically, may not let customers opt out, must collect your physical location before service starts, and must get your acknowledgment of the limits (FCC).
| Service | Emergency calling |
|---|---|
| Google Voice Basic (free) | Not available. Google lists emergency calling only for Workspace add-on, Starter standalone and Standard standalone accounts |
| Google Voice Starter or Standard | Available, but not during a power outage, internet loss or Google Voice outage; Google says to use another phone then |
| Its terms say it does not provide access to emergency services | |
| Signal | Its terms say it does not provide access to emergency service providers |
| Interconnected VoIP (most paid business phone systems) | Required on interconnected VoIP under FCC rules |
Google from its emergency calling help page; WhatsApp and Signal from their terms; rules from the eCFR and the FCC. Keep a cell phone or landline for 911 if your only line is a free app.
Free business VoIP: trials and 3CX
Business phone systems are not free, but most let you test them first. Trials give you the real system (phone menus, ring groups, apps, desk phones) for a few days before billing starts.
| Provider | Trial | Limits and price after |
|---|---|---|
| Grasshopper | 7 days | From $14 a month billed annually |
| Quo | 7 days | One number per user and US and Canada calling; no US texting until you pay |
| Dialpad | 14 days | Dialpad says: try Dialpad Connect free for 14 days |
| RingCentral | 14 days, new subscribers only | Its disclaimer limits the trial to 5 users and 2 desk phones; its FAQ says up to 20 phone lines. No SMS during the trial |
| FreedomVoice CloudNumber | 30 days | A toll-free or local number (virtual number service) |
Grasshopper and Quo trial terms: see free business phone numbers. RingCentral's page states both the 5-user and the 20-line figure.
3CX SMB Free
3CX says "3CX SMB Free is free for up to 10 users," with upgrades to paid Basic, PRO or AI keys (3CX). Its own pages disagree on hosting: the FAQ says "3CX SMB Free includes free hosting," while the free edition page says it "must be self-hosted." Calls to regular numbers need a SIP trunk, which is not included. See 3CX pricing.
Free softphone apps
A softphone turns a computer or cell phone into a phone for an existing VoIP account. 3CX offers a free VoIP phone app for Windows (3CX), and most business systems include their own apps. An app does not make calls free on its own; the account behind it does.
A free home phone line over VoIP
An adapter (ATA) lets a regular corded phone use an internet line. Google says OBiTALK devices work with the personal version of Voice and Voice Starter standalone subscriptions, not with paid Voice add-on subscriptions (Google). Before buying one, note that Poly is discontinuing all devices based on OBi firmware except the Poly ATA 400; Google will keep supporting them, but Poly will not issue firmware updates. And because the free plan has no emergency calling, a free Google Voice home line is not a 911 line.
Which free option fits
| If you need | Free option | The catch |
|---|---|---|
| Personal calls to US and Canada numbers | Google Voice Basic | Personal use only; needs an existing mobile number; no 911 |
| Calling family or friends abroad who use the same app | WhatsApp or Signal | You pay for data; no emergency access |
| A second line on your phone, ad-supported | TextFree or Talkatone | TextFree numbers expire after 30 days without use |
| Testing a phone system for a business | A 7 to 14 day trial | Billing starts when the trial ends |
| Running your own business phone system | 3CX SMB Free | Up to 10 users; you supply the SIP trunk |
| The lowest-cost paid business line | Google Voice Starter, $10 a month | Adds emergency calling and 24/7 support |
Paid plans start low. See the cheapest business phone services and, for how calling over the internet works, what VoIP is.
Questions to ask before relying on a free VoIP service
- Can it call landlines and cell phones, or only other app users? Google Voice reaches almost all US and Canada numbers free from the US.
- Do its terms allow business use? Google's free plan is "for personal, consumer use."
- Does 911 work, and from which address? Google's free plan has no emergency calling; WhatsApp and Signal say they give no access.
- What happens if I stop using it? A TextFree number expires after 30 days without use.
- What are the per-minute exceptions? Some US and Canada numbers cost 1 cent a minute on Google Voice.
- What does the trial turn into? RingCentral's trial is for new subscribers only and has no SMS.
Free calling vs a free number
A free calling service lets you place calls without paying per minute. A free number gives customers something to dial. Google Voice and TextFree give both. The number side, including verification codes and what happens when a free number expires, is covered on free business phone numbers. For desk phones that work with paid VoIP services, see VoIP phones.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a completely free VoIP service?
Yes for personal calling. Google Voice's free plan calls almost all US and Canada numbers at no charge from the US, and TextFree says its number, texting and calling are free. For business, most systems are free only as 7 to 14 day trials; 3CX SMB Free is free for up to 10 users if you supply the calling service.
Is Google Voice free for business use?
No. Google says its no-charge plan is for personal, consumer use. Business use starts at Google Voice Starter, $10 a month standalone, or $10 a user on top of a Google Workspace plan.
Can free VoIP apps call 911?
Mostly not. Google's free plan has no emergency calling, and WhatsApp's and Signal's terms say they do not provide access to emergency services. FCC rules require E911 on interconnected VoIP services, which includes paid business phone systems.
Is Skype still free?
Skype is gone. Microsoft says Skype was retired on May 5, 2025 and Skype Number subscriptions ended in May 2026; it points users to Microsoft Teams Free.
Are free VoIP calls really free?
Not always. Google Voice charges 1 cent a minute for some US and Canada numbers, and WhatsApp's terms make you responsible for data plan and internet fees.
Which business phone services offer a free trial?
Grasshopper and Quo offer 7 days, Dialpad and RingCentral 14 days, and FreedomVoice offers its CloudNumber virtual number free for 30 days.