Best Business Phone System

Home / Ooma vs Vonage

Ooma vs Vonage

Vonage is cheaper if you sign a 1-year contract: Mobile is $13.99 a line against Ooma Office Essentials at $19.95 a user. Month to month they are about even ($19.99 vs $19.95), and Ooma has no contract at all, a 30-day money-back guarantee and a free toll-free number. Checked October 29, 2026.

By Jason Holloway. Last checked October 29, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

On this page
  1. Ooma vs Vonage pricing
  2. Year-one cost for 5 users
  3. Plan by plan
  4. Why the Vonage wording matters in year two
  5. Monthly cost by team size
  6. Which tier you actually need
  7. Year one with desk phones
  8. Features by plan
  9. Calling area and texting
  10. Questions to ask before you sign
  11. Contract terms side by side
  12. Which to pick
  13. Frequently asked questions

This page compares the business services: Ooma Office and Vonage Business Communications. Looking for a home phone instead? Ooma's home service is covered on free business phone numbers.

Ooma vs Vonage pricing

Ooma OfficeVonage Business
EntryEssentials $19.95Mobile $13.99 annual / $19.99 monthly
MiddlePro $24.95Premium $20.99 / $29.99
TopPro Plus $29.95Advanced $27.99 / $39.99
BillingMonthly only, no contractAnnual contract (1-year minimum) or monthly
CancellingNo contract; 30-day money-back guaranteeAnnual: early termination fees up to the total contract price. Monthly: no fee, no refunds
Free trialNone stated; money-back guarantee insteadNone stated on the pricing page

Per user (Ooma) or per line (Vonage) a month, before taxes and fees, from Ooma's plans page and Vonage's pricing page, read October 29, 2026. Ooma's guarantee is stated on its restaurant page.

Vonage's discount: its page says two things

The annual prices carry a "12-MONTH PROMOTION" badge. The terms on the same page say the 30% discount is "for the duration of the service for annual contracts only" (Vonage terms). Read one way, the discount ends after a year; read the other, it lasts as long as you keep the account. Get the renewal price in writing before you sign. The offer is valid through December 31, 2026, applies only to online purchases up to 99 lines, and not to monthly plans.

Year-one cost for 5 users

First-year cost for 5 users, Ooma Office vs VonageVonage Mobile (annual)$839.40Ooma Essentials$1,197Vonage Premium (annual)$1,259.40Ooma Pro$1,497Vonage Advanced (annual)$1,679.40Ooma Pro Plus$1,797Computed: price x 5 users x 12 months.First-year cost for 5 users, Ooma Office vs VonageVonage Mobile (annual)$839.40Ooma Essentials$1,197Vonage Premium (annual)$1,259.40Ooma Pro$1,497Vonage Advanced (annual)$1,679.40Ooma Pro Plus$1,797Computed: price x 5 users x 12 months.
Five users for 12 months at each plan's published price. Vonage's annual prices need a 1-year contract; the badge and terms conflict does not change year one.
PlanYear one, 5 usersYear one on Vonage's monthly plan
Ooma Essentials$1,197Same (monthly only)
Ooma Pro$1,497Same (monthly only)
Ooma Pro Plus$1,797Same (monthly only)
Vonage Mobile$839.40$1,199.40
Vonage Premium$1,259.40$1,799.40
Vonage Advanced$1,679.40$2,399.40

Vonage on an annual contract is cheapest in year one at every tier. Month to month, Ooma Essentials ($1,197) and Vonage Mobile ($1,199.40) are within a few dollars, and Ooma's two higher plans cost less than Vonage's.

Plan by plan

Ooma Office

  • Essentials ($19.95): unlimited calling to the US, Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico, virtual receptionist, mobile app, one free toll-free number, digital fax.
  • Pro ($24.95): adds a desktop app, texting up to 250 a month, video up to 25, call recording, enhanced call blocking.
  • Pro Plus ($29.95): adds AI transcriptions and insights, CRM integration, texting up to 1,000, video up to 100, team chat, hot desking, call queuing.

Vonage Business

  • Mobile ($13.99 / $19.99): desktop and mobile apps, unlimited domestic calling, SMS and MMS, voicemail.
  • Premium ($20.99 / $29.99): adds VoIP desk phones, video meetings up to 200 participants, team messaging, the App Center and single sign-on.
  • Advanced ($27.99 / $39.99): adds on-demand call recording (15 hours a month), visual voicemail with transcription and call groups.

Why the Vonage wording matters in year two

If the 30% discount lasts for the duration of the service, 5 users on Vonage Mobile cost $839.40 again in year two. If it is a 12-month promotion and the price returns to the $19.99 monthly list rate, year two would cost $1,199.40, $360 more. Vonage's page does not say which rate an annual contract renews at, so ask.

Monthly cost by team size

TeamOoma EssentialsVonage Mobile, annual contractVonage Mobile, monthly
1 user$19.95$13.99$19.99
5 users$99.75$69.95$99.95
10 users$199.50$139.90$199.90
20 users$399$279.80$399.80

Per month on each entry plan, computed from the published prices; taxes and fees extra. Vonage also shows lower per-line prices for some team sizes it does not label; we use the base price.

Which tier you actually need

If you needOoma plan, 5 users a monthVonage plan, 5 users a month (annual / monthly)
Apps only, no desk phonesEssentials $99.75Mobile $69.95 / $99.95
Desk phonesEssentials $99.75Premium $104.95 / $149.95
Call recordingPro $124.75Advanced $139.95 / $199.95
Call queuesPro Plus $149.75Not stated on the pricing page

Computed from the published prices. Vonage supports desk phones only from Premium and records calls only on Advanced; Ooma records from Pro.

Year one with desk phones

Five users on Ooma Office Essentials with one IP desk phone each (from $79.99 in Ooma's shop when the comparison was checked) cost $1,596.95 in year one: $1,197 of service and $399.95 of phones. Vonage's pricing page does not list desk phone prices, so price its phones before you compare. Ooma's shop also showed a buy-one-get-one offer on the Yealink T31W (Ooma shop), so phones can cost less.

Features by plan

Ooma OfficeVonage Business
CallingUnlimited to the US, Canada, Mexico and Puerto RicoUnlimited domestic calling
TextingPro: up to 250 a month; Pro Plus: up to 1,000SMS and MMS on every plan; Campaign Registry fees apply
Video meetingsPro: up to 25; Pro Plus: up to 100Premium and Advanced: up to 200 participants
Call recordingPro and Pro PlusAdvanced only, 15 hours a month on demand
Phone menu and hold musicVirtual receptionist, ring groups and music on hold on every planCall groups on Advanced
Call queuesPro PlusNot stated on the pricing page
Desk phonesSupportedPremium and Advanced
Toll-free numberOne free on every planOne local number's monthly charge waived
IntegrationsCRM integration on Pro PlusApp Center with over 20 integrations on Premium and up

Calling area and texting

Ooma's unlimited calling covers the US, Canada, Mexico and Puerto Rico on every plan; Vonage lists unlimited domestic calling. For texting, Ooma caps messages by plan and has none on Essentials, while Vonage includes SMS and MMS on every plan but charges Campaign Registry fees for the mandatory business registration. If you text customers often and want the lowest price, Vonage Mobile includes texting at $13.99 on a contract; on Ooma you need Pro at $24.95.

Questions to ask before you sign

  • Vonage: what is the renewal price after the first 12 months? What is the early termination fee on my contract?
  • Vonage: what do the Campaign Registry fees for texting cost?
  • Ooma: which desk phones are supported, and are my current ones compatible?
  • Both: what will taxes and fees add per line? How many toll-free minutes are included?

Contract terms side by side

Ooma Office

  • No contract necessary on any plan
  • 30-day money-back guarantee
  • One free toll-free number on every plan
  • Enterprise plan: custom pricing

Vonage Business

  • New annual accounts: 1-year minimum contract
  • Annual early termination fees can reach the total contract price
  • Monthly: no early termination fee, but no refunds
  • 30% discount only on voice extension charges bought online, up to 99 lines
  • Taxes and fees not included

Which to pick

If youPickWhy
You will commit for a yearVonage$13.99 a line on Mobile, 30% under its monthly price
You want no contractOomaMonthly only, with a 30-day money-back guarantee
You need call recording cheaplyOoma Pro$24.95 against Vonage Advanced at $27.99 annual
A toll-free number includedOomaOne free toll-free number on Essentials
Larger video meetingsVonage PremiumUp to 200 participants

Full plan breakdowns: Ooma Office pricing and Vonage Business pricing. Comparing more? See the cheapest business phone service.

Full reviews of each: Ooma review and Vonage review.

Frequently asked questions

Is Ooma or Vonage cheaper?

Vonage on an annual contract: Mobile is $13.99 a line against Ooma Essentials at $19.95. Month to month they are close ($19.99 vs $19.95), and Ooma's higher plans cost less than Vonage's monthly prices.

What is Ooma phone?

Ooma sells internet phone service. Ooma Office, its business service, costs $19.95 to $29.95 a user a month with no contract. Its home service lists phone service at $0.00 a month plus taxes and fees, after you buy an Ooma Telo device ($79.99 on sale, $99.99 list, when checked).

Is Vonage good for a landline?

Vonage Business is internet phone service, not a copper landline. It works in desktop and mobile apps, and on VoIP desk phones from its Premium plan. For real landlines see business landline service.

Does Vonage have a free trial?

Vonage's pricing page and terms do not state a free trial. Monthly plans have no early termination fee, but no refunds if you cancel.

Can I keep my number if I switch to Ooma or Vonage?

Yes. Ooma ports regular US and Canada numbers free, and FCC rules require internet phone providers to help customers port numbers in and out.

What is similar to Ooma?

Other no-contract or monthly options include Zoom Phone, Quo and Dialpad. See 10 plans ranked by price.