On this page
Google Voice alternatives compared
| Provider | Entry plan | Phone menu | Business texting | Desk phones |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Vonage Business | Mobile: $13.99 ($19.99 monthly) | Virtual receptionist listed (plan not readable) | All plans | Premium and Advanced |
| Grasshopper | True Solo: $14 ($18 monthly) | Solo Plus and Small Business (not True Solo) | Included | None sold; VoIP desk phones can connect, per its FAQ |
| Dialpad | Connect Standard: $15 ($27 monthly) | Offered (plan not stated) | SMS and MMS | Supported |
| Quo (formerly OpenPhone) | Starter: $15 ($19 monthly) | Business ($23 annual) | All plans | Not stated |
| Nextiva | NEXT Core: $15 ($23 monthly) | Offered | Core 100 per user (period not stated); Engage 500; Scale unlimited | VoIP desk phones, bought separately |
| Zoom Phone | US & CA Unlimited: $16 ($18 monthly) | Auto attendants/IVR on all plans | All plans | Phones sold as an add-on |
| Ooma Office | Essentials: $19.95 | All plans | Pro (250 a month) and Pro Plus (1,000) | Yes, phones sold |
| RingCentral RingEX | Core: $20 ($30 monthly) | Auto attendant listed | Core, Advanced and Ultra | Yes; rental needs a multi-year contract |
| Aircall | Essentials: $30 ($40 monthly) | All plans | All plans | Not stated |
Plan features from each company's pricing page, read October 22, 2026; prices read October 29, 2026. Prices are per user a month before taxes and fees.
Why people outgrow Google Voice
- Starter has no phone menu. Google lists auto attendants and ring groups on Standard at $20 a user, not Starter at $10 (Google Voice plans).
- Starter stops at 10 users. Standard lists an unlimited number of users.
- Beyond one user, it sits inside Google Workspace. Google sells a single-user Voice Only plan, but Starter for up to 10 users, Standard and Premier are add-ons to a Workspace plan.
- The billing commitment isn't stated on Google's Voice page, which shows per user, per month prices only.
Which alternative fits
| If you want | Look at | Price checked October 29, 2026 |
|---|---|---|
| A phone menu without a Workspace plan | Ooma Office | $19.95 a user, Virtual Receptionist on every plan |
| A team that texts customers | Quo Business | $23 a user annual, phone menus included |
| One person, mobile only | Grasshopper True Solo | $14 a month annual, per account |
| Desk phones and a receptionist menu | Ooma Office Essentials | $19.95 a user, no contract |
Staying with Google? See Google Voice pricing for what each plan includes.
Before switching, see the Google Voice for business review and Google Voice vs Grasshopper.
Frequently asked questions
What is the best alternative to Google Voice for business?
For a phone menu without a Workspace plan, Ooma Office at $19.95 a user. For a single person, Grasshopper True Solo at $14 a month per account. For texting-heavy teams, Quo. Prices checked October 29, 2026.
Does Google Voice have an auto attendant?
Google lists auto attendants and ring groups on Google Voice Standard at $20 a user. They are not listed on Starter at $10.
How many users can Google Voice Starter have?
Up to 10 users, per Google's Voice plans page. Standard lists an unlimited number of users.