Best Business Phone System

Home / Restaurant phone systems

Restaurant phone systems

A restaurant phone system should answer common questions, route takeout and reservation calls to the right phones, and queue callers during the rush. Ooma Office answers and routes calls from $19.95 a user with no contract (call queuing on Pro Plus at $29.95) and is the only one of the restaurant pages we read that names a POS integration (Square).

By Jason Holloway. Last checked October 29, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

On this page
  1. What a restaurant phone system needs
  2. Restaurant phone systems compared
  3. Ooma Office plans for a restaurant
  4. Prices
  5. What 3 phones cost a month
  6. Year one with desk phones
  7. AI agents for orders and reservations
  8. Ooma for restaurants, in detail
  9. POS and online ordering
  10. General phone systems that also fit
  11. Texting customers
  12. Which features fit which restaurant
  13. Questions to ask a restaurant phone provider
  14. How to choose
  15. Frequently asked questions

What a restaurant phone system needs

Restaurant calls come in waves: a lunch rush, then dinner, with the same few questions every time. A good restaurant phone system answers the easy questions on its own, sends orders and reservations to the right people, and keeps callers on hold instead of giving them a busy signal.

How a restaurant phone system handles a dinner rush1Greeting answersHours, location anddirections handledbefore anyone picks up.2Caller picksPress 1 for takeout, 2for reservations.3Ring group ringsEvery phone at the hoststand or pickup counterrings together.4Queue and holdmusicOn busy nights callerswait in line instead ofhearing a busy signal.5OverflowVoicemail, or an AIagent taking the orderor booking.How a restaurant phone system handles a dinner rush1Greeting answersHours, location and directions handledbefore anyone picks up.2Caller picksPress 1 for takeout, 2 for reservations.3Ring group ringsEvery phone at the host stand or pickupcounter rings together.4Queue and hold musicOn busy nights callers wait in line insteadof hearing a busy signal.5OverflowVoicemail, or an AI agent taking the orderor booking.
A typical call flow built from an auto attendant, ring groups and a call queue. Queues and AI agents are on higher plans or add-ons.

Restaurant phone systems compared

SystemRoutingBusy timesOrders and reservationsPOS or payments named
Ooma OfficeVirtual receptionist, ring groups to reservations, takeout, kitchen and back officeHold music on all plans; call queuing on Pro PlusCall recording for take-out orders; overhead pagingSquare
NextivaNot stated on its restaurant pageNot stated on its restaurant pageXBert AI books reservations, handles takeout orders and catering, routes VIP guestsNot stated
RingCentralAI-based routing across channelsCall queues sold as a paid BoosterNot stated on its restaurant pageNot stated; lists Salesforce, Google Workspace and Zendesk
UltatelQueue and routing logic that lets high-value callers skip the lineNot statedVoice AI agent handles reservations, takeout orders and catering inquiriesNot stated

From each company's restaurant and pricing pages, read October 29, 2026. "Not stated" means the page we read does not mention it.

Ooma Office plans for a restaurant

FeatureEssentials $19.95Pro $24.95Pro Plus $29.95
Virtual receptionist, ring groups, music on holdYesYesYes
CallingUnlimited to the US, Canada, Mexico and Puerto RicoSameSame
Free toll-free numberYesYesYes
Call recordingNoYesYes
TextingNoUp to 250 a monthUp to 1,000 a month
Call queuingNoNoYes
AI transcriptions and CRM integrationNoNoYes

Per user a month, no contract, from Ooma's plans page, read October 29, 2026.

Prices

SystemPriceTerms and add-ons
Ooma OfficeEssentials $19.95, Pro $24.95, Pro Plus $29.95 a user a monthNo contracts; 30-day money-back guarantee
NextivaFrom $15 a user a monthXBert AI: $1.50 per conversation (Nextiva pricing)
RingCentralCore $20 a user paid annually, $30 monthlyCall Queues Booster $35
UltatelNot published on its restaurant pageFree porting and setup

Before taxes and fees. Ooma from its plans page; RingCentral from its plans and pricing page. More detail: Ooma pricing, Nextiva pricing, RingCentral pricing.

What 3 phones cost a month

Plan3 users a monthNotes
Nextiva (from)$45XBert AI extra at $1.50 per conversation
Ooma Office Essentials$59.85Virtual receptionist, ring groups, hold music
RingCentral Core, paid annually$60Call queues are a paid Booster
Ooma Office Pro$74.85Adds call recording
Ooma Office Pro Plus$89.85Adds call queuing

Three users at each plan's published per-user price; taxes, fees and add-ons extra. Ultatel does not publish prices on its restaurant page.

Year one with desk phones

A restaurant with 3 phones on Ooma Office Pro, for call recording, pays $898.20 a year in service. With three Ooma IP desk phones at the lowest in-stock price on the comparison ($79.99 each, $239.97), year one is $1,138.17 before taxes. Ooma says its phones come preconfigured.

AI agents for orders and reservations

AgentWhat it handlesPrice
Nextiva XBert AIBooks reservations, takes takeout orders, manages catering, routes VIP guests$1.50 per conversation on NEXT plans (200 conversations would be $300, computed; packages start at 100 a month), or the XBert AI Employee at $99 a month
Ultatel Voice AI agentReservations, takeout orders and catering inquiries, 24/7Not published
OomaVirtual receptionist answers location, directions and hoursIncluded on every plan

Ooma for restaurants, in detail

Ooma is the only provider here with a dedicated restaurant feature list. It says its phones come preconfigured and setup takes about 15 minutes, you can keep your number or choose a new one, and overhead paging is popular with fast food and casual dining restaurants. Ring groups send calls to reservations, takeout, the kitchen or the back office, and call recording can run automatically or on demand to document orders and reservations (Ooma).

POS and online ordering

Of the restaurant pages we read, only Ooma names a point-of-sale or payments integration: Square, which it says brings communications and payment processing into one platform. Nextiva, RingCentral and Ultatel do not name a POS or online ordering integration on theirs. If you run Toast, Clover or an ordering app, ask the provider for the integration in writing before you sign.

General phone systems that also fit

A restaurant does not need an industry product. Ooma Office includes a virtual receptionist and ring groups on every plan from $19.95 a user, and Aircall includes IVR and queues on every plan from $30 a license (3-license minimum). See call center phone systems for queue features.

Texting customers

Many diners would rather text than call. Before a business number can text US numbers it must be registered with the carriers: if you send SMS or MMS to US numbers from a regular 10-digit number, you need A2P 10DLC registration (Twilio). Ooma's texting starts on Pro (250 a month), and RingCentral Core includes 25 texts per user a month. Registration steps are in how to get a business phone number.

Which features fit which restaurant

Restaurant typeFeatures to prioritise
Fast food and counter serviceOverhead paging, ring group at the counter, recorded greeting with hours
Casual dining with takeoutMenu option for takeout, call recording for orders, hold music
Reservation-heavy diningSeparate reservations option, queue for peak hours, or an AI agent that books tables
CateringA direct line or menu option to the catering manager; Nextiva and Ultatel say their AI agents handle catering inquiries

Questions to ask a restaurant phone provider

  • Does it integrate with my POS or ordering system? Get it in writing; only Ooma names one (Square) on the pages we read.
  • Can callers wait in a queue with hold music, and on which plan?
  • Is call recording automatic, on demand, or not offered on this plan?
  • What does the AI agent cost per call or conversation, and what happens when it cannot answer?
  • Can I keep my number, and is porting free?
  • Is there a contract or a money-back period?

How to choose

  • One location, small staff: a virtual receptionist and ring groups cover most of it. Ooma includes both on Essentials.
  • Heavy phone orders: call recording settles disputes over orders; on Ooma it starts on Pro.
  • Busy nights: look for a call queue with hold music (Ooma Pro Plus, or RingCentral's Booster), or an AI agent for reservations and takeout (Nextiva XBert, Ultatel).
  • Loud kitchens: overhead paging reaches staff away from a phone.
  • Keep your number: port it; Ultatel lists free porting. See auto attendant phone systems for menus on every plan.

Frequently asked questions

What is the best phone system for restaurants?

One that answers common questions automatically, routes takeout and reservation calls to the right phones, and queues callers at peak times. Ooma Office covers routing and hold music from $19.95 a user with no contract, with call recording from Pro at $24.95 and call queuing on Pro Plus at $29.95; Nextiva and Ultatel add AI agents for orders and bookings.

Do restaurant phone systems integrate with POS systems?

Among the restaurant pages we read, only Ooma names one: Square. Ask any other provider to confirm your POS in writing.

What are the best phone systems for hospitality?

For restaurants, routing and queues matter most. For hotels, property management integration and direct 911 dialing; see hotel phone systems.

Do businesses still use PBX systems?

Yes, often hosted in the cloud. A hosted PBX gives the same menus, ring groups and queues without a box on site; see hosted PBX.

Can a phone system take restaurant orders automatically?

Yes, with an AI agent. Nextiva's XBert AI handles takeout orders and reservations at $1.50 per conversation, and Ultatel's Voice AI agent handles reservations, takeout and catering inquiries.