Best Business Phone System

Home / RingCentral vs Nextiva

RingCentral vs Nextiva

On a 12-month contract Nextiva is cheaper: NEXT Core is $15 a user a month against RingCentral Core at $20 paid annually, which is $600 a year less for 10 users. RingCentral wins if you want a 14-day free trial or a large integration library (it cites 330+ on one page and 500+ on another), and Nextiva Engage wins if you need a toll-free number included.

By Eric Lindqvist. Last checked October 29, 2026. Every price and term comes from the company's own website. How we verify

On this page
  1. The short answer
  2. Price per user
  3. What it costs for your team
  4. What you get on the entry plan
  5. Add-ons that change the bill
  6. Fine print worth reading
  7. Frequently asked questions

The short answer

If this is youPickWhy
You will sign a 12-month contractNextivaNEXT Core is $15 a user on an annual term against RingCentral Core at $20 paid annually. For 10 users that is $600 a year less.
You want to stay month to monthNextivaNextiva Core is $23 month to month; RingCentral Core is $30 paid monthly.
You need a toll-free numberNextiva EngageEngage includes a toll-free number and 2,000 minutes. RingCentral includes 100 toll-free minutes on Core, 1,000 on Advanced and 10,000 on Ultra.
You want to try it firstRingCentralRingCentral offers a 14-day free trial to new subscribers. Nextiva offers a demo, not a trial of its phone plans.
You live in other business appsRingCentral AdvancedRingCentral cites over 330 integrations on its plans page and 500+ on its RingEX page. Nextiva leans on its own built-in CRM, ticketing and inboxes instead.

Price per user

RingCentral RingEXNextiva
Entry planCore: $20 annual, $30 monthlyNEXT Core: $15 annual, $23 monthly
Mid planAdvanced: $25 annual, $35 monthlyNEXT Engage: $25 annual, $50 monthly
Top planUltra: $35 annual, $45 monthlyNEXT Scale: $75
Annual discount"Save up to 33%" on annualAnnual price needs a 12-month or longer term
Billing basis of the headline priceStated: paid annuallyStated

Sources: RingCentral plan page, RingCentral plans and pricing, Nextiva pricing, all read October 29, 2026. RingCentral's plans and pricing page labels $20 and $25 as the prices paid annually and shows $30 and $35 when paid monthly.

What it costs for your team

UsersRingCentral Core (annual)RingCentral Core (monthly)Nextiva Core (annual)Nextiva Core (monthly)
1$20$30$15$23
5$100$150$75$115
10$200$300$150$230
20$400$600$300$460

Per month, before taxes and regulatory fees, which both companies add on top. Multiplication of each company's published entry price; no discounts or promotions applied.

What you get on the entry plan

RingCentral CoreNextiva NEXT Core
CallingCalls includedUnlimited voice and video
Texting25 SMS per user a month (not during the trial)100 SMS/MMS per user (period not stated)
AIAI Virtual Assistant included; AI Receptionist add-on from $3950 each of AI transcription, summaries and answer assist
IntegrationsStandardBuilt-in basic CRM, ticketing and shared inboxes
Toll-free100 minutes on CoreAdd-on on Core; included from Engage
Free trial14 days, new subscribers onlyNo phone-plan trial; demo offered

Add-ons that change the bill

RingCentralNextiva
AI receptionistAI Receptionist from $39 (unit not stated)XBert AI Employee $99 a month, or $1.50 per conversation on NEXT plans
Texting volumeBusiness SMS Booster $25Engage 500 per user; Scale unlimited
Call queuesCall Queues Booster $35Skills-based routing on Core
Conversation analyticsConversational Intelligence from $60Supervisor monitoring on Scale

Fine print worth reading

  • RingCentral's page conflicts on the trial size. Its plans and pricing page FAQ offers new subscribers a 14-day free trial with up to 20 phone lines, while its disclaimer limits the trial to five users and two desk phones (RingCentral). Trial hardware has to be returned within 21 days of cancelling or you are charged for it.
  • Nextiva's low prices need a contract. Annual small-business pricing is for new customers with 1 to 100 employees who sign a 12-month or longer term.
  • Nextiva shows "up to 12 months free" without the terms on the page. Get them in writing.
  • Neither price includes taxes and fees. On a business phone bill those add real money; see what a business phone system costs for a worked example.

Full detail on each: RingCentral pricing and Nextiva pricing. Weighing more than two? Compare all business phone systems.

Full reviews: RingCentral review and Nextiva review.

Frequently asked questions

Is RingCentral or Nextiva cheaper?

Nextiva, on either term: NEXT Core is $15 a user on a 12-month contract against RingCentral Core at $20 paid annually, and $23 month to month against RingCentral's $30 paid monthly.

Which has a free trial?

RingCentral: 14 days, for new subscribers only. Nextiva offers a demo rather than a trial of its phone plans.

Which includes a toll-free number?

Nextiva NEXT Engage includes a toll-free number with 2,000 minutes, and Scale includes 10,000. RingCentral includes 100 toll-free minutes on Core, 1,000 on Advanced and 10,000 on Ultra.

Do both include texting?

Yes. Nextiva Core includes 100 SMS/MMS per user and Engage 500; the plan cards do not state the period. RingCentral Core includes 25 SMS per user a month, Advanced 100 and Ultra 200, but not during the trial.

Which is better for AI phone answering?

RingCentral's AI Receptionist add-on starts at $39 (unit not stated). Nextiva's XBert AI Employee is $99 a month, or $1.50 per conversation on NEXT plans.